Oh, the Evil Eye ….

I was out in my courtyard the other day and noticed my mint plants were starting to come back (well, actually it was a milder winter, so a few of them never totally left). Anyhow, that reminded me of the grasshoppers that would live over in that area. I didn’t mind them munching on my mint, as there is enough to go around.

Which brings me to this photo. I took this last summer as this little guy (or girl) was clinging to the stucco on the adobe wall of my home.  I just like this photo, the narrow depth of field (focus) really keeps the focus on this little guy, and I like that he was giving me the evil eye. (:

I’m really surprised at how insects will let you get really close with a macro lens while you click away. I’m going to try to take more photos of different ones this year, I think.

And I’m hoping that in a few months, I’ll be seeing some relatives of this grasshopper around. Don’t worry little ones, there will be enough mint for all of us. (:

Shot with my 105mm macro lens at f/5.

Image Copyright © Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on March 9, 2012.

46 Responses to “Oh, the Evil Eye ….”

  1. Beautiful, but the subject is not one of my favorite animals hehehe. Magnificent creatures though.

  2. Wow fantastic level of detail and amazing framing :) Great shot

  3. Nice “hopper”. I used to like these creatures until one summer when they seemed to be attacking me while on an afternoon walk. It was a strange bombardment. Having several of these guys fly into and attach itself to the face and hair is a bit unnerving. So as cool as this image is it does give me the “heebie jeebies” :-) Keep up the great work my friend. At least I can laugh about it now. LOL. Have a great weekend.

  4. Hey I like this a lot! It’s not easy to focus on the right area with narrow DOF.

  5. great details… I think he is giving ME the evil eye too!!! You would think that bugs would be a bit more gun shy…I mean- not many people care for them.. I personally like them much better in a photograph. You captured this one nicely!

  6. Oh he’s not evil he’s cute!

  7. Last summer (while still living in Pennsylvania), there was a bumper “crop” of grasshoppers. Provided hours of entertainment for my two cats!

  8. So cool! Love that little guy also and he is definitely staring you down :) great macro shot!

  9. You have clicked it very nicely! And so close. It just gave me a goosebumps, hehehe. I will leave this page without giving it a second glance. ;) I don’t hate it, but still…
    :)

  10. Wow! Imagine that landing on your hair :-)

  11. Lovely detail!

  12. Oh, what a nice shot Katie!!!

  13. Fantastic shot with excellent details. :)

  14. WOW! Excellent shot. You are amazing dear Katie, how did you notice him? Thank you, have a nice weekend, with my love, nia

  15. Grasshopper: “…got problem?” Amazing shot, Katie.

  16. What a camouflage!! Nature is amazing, isn’t it?

    Loved your focus and DOF… :)

  17. Ah he/she is cute!

  18. Wonderful shot Katie. What an amazing capture.

  19. haha–he looks like he’s looking straight (or I should say, sideways) at the camera and posing for you

  20. ahahahahahaaha..Isn’t it funny when you capture a moment like this? It always amazes me.

    Few days ago I took some picture of a big bee that was collecting the nectar. One of those photos showed how she looked at me in ‘anger’ because I took a candid picture of her, LOL.

    I’ve posted it here:

    http://godslover.wordpress.com/2012/03/09/candid-photography-when-a-bee-have-sunbathing/

  21. Great macro work

  22. I love this grasshopper! Grasshoppers look so mechanical and robotic. Great shot!

  23. Love the tones of the gresshopper and the roughness of the wall

  24. Hi Katie, what an amazing picture. I really love this. Creepy chap and you have captured so much detail.

  25. He’s lovely. I like the pattern on his body.

  26. OMG that totally made me laugh! I’ve gotten the evil eye WAY too many times…mind you, from my kids but hey…it’s still “the eye”! :P

  27. I love the colors on this guy.

  28. Fantastic Macro. He’s got lovely colouring too.

  29. He’s just wondering what that woman with the camera is doing!! beautiful shot.

  30. Great shot of your “evil friend” (!) out there ;-)

  31. Fabulous photo, well done for managing to get so close to it!

  32. Wonderful detail, Katie. The scent from the mint plants must be lovely!

  33. Fantastic Katie! :)

  34. Hi, I’ve nominated you for a Sunshine award. I truly think your blog deserves it!

  35. Such cute post and what a gorgeous picture! :)

  36. beautiful pests…gee, if i weren’t aching for a Telephoto, I would be wanting a macro…sigh…Jane

  37. Great macro, really nice detail on the grasshopper.

  38. Wonderful idea, Katie!
    I ADORE insects. They are splendid subjects for photos, so terribly photogenic ;)

  39. Fantastic attention to detail and I think you’re right, he’s definitely staring at you :-)

  40. Oh he’s so cool! Great photo Katie!

  41. Ow wow!!! beautiful shot!!! The detail is amazing. This creature is scary but also cute ;)

  42. One can see all the wonderful detail in these characters. I like it. Hope you do take some more, if they’ll let you…. ;oD

  43. NIce one!

  44. Ha! Ha! Great shot, Katie! What size is it! If I think about it as under an inch long, that’s fine and he is really cute! If I think about it as over three inches long, sorry, but that is a monster! We don’t get insects that are much larger than an inch long over here so the idea of ‘biggies’ makes me shudder!

    Cheers

    John

Leave a Reply

 
