Photography as Abstract – Swirling Blue with Light

Been gone for a while. Sorry on that. Life sometimes does that, you know?

Truly appreciate all the comments and support even when I wasn’t posting  also. Thank you so very much.

________________

Here’s another of the abstracts I’ve been doing. If you want to see the other images/posts in the series, please click here and here.

Inge (her blog here) recently commented that she was recommending my camera movement abstracts to others who are learning about the technique, and that just pleased me so much, that I decided to post another one.

As a reward for watching my neighbor’s adorable Zebra Finch (you can see a normal photo involving another time I watched this wonderful bird here), I was given a vase filled with beautiful flowers.

I immediately emptied the vase and began taking abstracts of the vase itself involving camera movement. (:

Shot with my 105 mm lens at f/22 with a shutter speed of one second, as I moved the camera in an upward and circular motion.

Image Copyright © Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on March 20, 2012.

40 Responses to “Photography as Abstract – Swirling Blue with Light”

  1. worth the wait! You’re back with a very powerful image Katie! I just love it!

  2. I love this one!!! lovely- having NO idea that there was likely a vase in that image!

  3. Love this movement abstract. The lower left portion is pure genius.

  4. Welcome back, and good to know that more photos will be coming from your side… i was already missing them.

    I love the blue on this one…looks fantastic :)

  5. Beautiful blue abstract! I’ve been waiting for a new post! Great to have you back and posting wonderful photos :)

  6. Amazing. I love the swirls of color – but then, I find your abstracts captivating. This one is especially beautiful.

    Glad your back – missed your posts.

  7. I missed you dear Katie, I am so glad to see you again. I hope and wish you are fine. As always your abstract hits me… I loved it. Thank you, with my love, nia

  8. Lovely!

  9. Welcome back Katie! You have such clever ideas for abstract and your shots always come out great.

  10. Welcome back Katie :)
    great abstract by the way

  11. ow…I need to warn you that you might find an unpleasant surprise at my blog and my turtle’s blog.

    • I read about Kame, Novia. I’m so very sorry. She was such a wonderful turtle, and I know how heartbreaking it is to lose our closest little friends. My deepest sympathy to you and to Kroten also, who must be missing her sister a lot. All my best.

  12. Nice to have you back :-)

    Reminds me of a cool breeze from the ocean on a warm sunny day. Loving this!!!!

  13. Great image, great to see you back!

  14. been a while on your blog! as always great work!!

  15. Your camera movement shots really are very cool, Katie. And too funny that you immediately dumped out the flowers to shoot the vase. Ha!

  16. Katie, as you know I love your abstracts! Beautiful!

  17. A perfect abstract! Good colours and movement.

  18. simply beautiful.. .. colours and movement perfect.

  19. The colours and movement are very effective Katie. I’m enjoying your abstracts very much.

  20. Great to see you and one more of your amazing abstracts, Katie. I LOVE this one!
    BTW – I just posted my contribution to Scott Thomas’ Assignment “Abstract Photography” ( http://truels.wordpress.com/2012/03/20/rose-panning/ ) – this (or one of your other abstacts) could be another great contribution!

  21. Been missing your posts Katie, but totally understand! Love the glistening streak in the lower left corner!

  22. Great to have you back Katie, I,ve been waiting for more ideas to use :-)

  23. No problem that you were away, as long as you were safe and healthy :) Welcome back

  24. cool!

  25. Love it!!

  26. This is beautiful!!! The colors and the motion together are stunning.

  27. One of favs so far Katie, nice!
    peace
    xandi

  28. Very beautiful image, Katie! Adrian

  29. That’s it! I was right when I recommended your blog to my friends! :)

    This vase even look like a flower to me and I really like the bottom part on the left.

    Thank you very much for taking your time to upload it, Katie! Thanks for mentioning me as well. Really appreciated :)

  30. I love your blog, and have missed seeing your posts, but I certainly know how life can get in the way of blogging! I also want you to know that I nominated you for a Sunshine Award:

    http://paulatohlinecalhoun1951.wordpress.com/2012/03/19/monday-joy-13/

    It is my way of telling you how much I appreciate your work and how helpful you have been. I posted a few photos (a slide show) of some recent spring scenes on that same post. Not great photos, but I am starting to get the hand of the camera settings. Thanks for all your help!

  31. Wow! That is awesome! Your abstracts are getting better and better! :)

  32. I like your abstracts. You have such a good way of using the colors & blur to creat motion.

  33. Katie, I love this abstract in particular, although I must say that is something I am not ready to try myself – too busy getting things in focus, let alone out of it!

    I’ve got a question – have you taken any photos of the zebra finch? I couldn’t find one of her – just the eggs! Seeing the effs and reading about your tending of her makes me want to have a bird (or birds) around again. I so miss our dear Pepper – who died at age 50 this summer. He was part of our family since he was six months old, and I miss him and hearing him laugh every single day. I had a pair of strawberry finches when I was a little girl. When we moved to CT (I was 12), rather than take them on the airplane, I gave them to my Aunt, who thoroughly enjoyed them.

  34. very cool

  35. Wow, that’s an excellent capture!

  36. Really like your abstract, Katie!

    Cheers

    John

Leave a Reply

 
