Drip Drop Drippety Drip

A while ago, I posted some abstract rain drop photos that were very popular, so I thought it’s about time to show another rain drop photo; this time a more normal one.

This photo was taken in the same time frame as the other ones (we don’t get much rain in Santa Fe, so not many chances to take photos like these), but these drops have a more natural look.

It was heavily overcast when I took this photo (very unusual here), and since I didn’t have my tripod with me, I had to use a small aperture in order to get a shutter speed that would allow me to get a shake free shot. That means that the depth of field (focus) became very narrow. I wasn’t sure I liked it at first, but the more I see it, the more I do. (:

Shot with my 105mm lens at f/4.2.

Image Copyright © Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on March 26, 2012.

24 Responses to “Drip Drop Drippety Drip”

  1. Very nice. I can see the gloom of the rainy day.

  2. Nice!

  3. A very nice catch, Katie! :)

  4. sparkling drops! [love the Mary Poppins-like title!]

  5. Brilliant :-)

  6. We had rain all day, yesterday, but I didn’t venture out. Now, I wish I had.

  7. Really like this photo, Katie. :)

  8. wow great capture!

  9. Very cool!

  10. That looks really cool! Water droplets are one of my favorite things to take pictures of :D

  11. Wonderful! I Wally like how sharp the black is Against the background.

  12. Very cool. The greyish background says a lot about the weather you were having at the time the photo was taken.

  13. Definitely a rainy day feel to this. Still so beautiful :)

  14. Love this perspective. Great work!

  15. Oh love it… I just love water drop photographs!!!

  16. WOW!
    So gorgeous, Katie.

  17. More of these please!!

  18. Hi Katie. Could you give me your professional opinion about my pictures please? I would love to hear a few words from someone with your eyes please. =)

  19. nice contrast between the two drops, Katie. Jane

  20. Great shot! I could see this one as a bat or glasses. It’s very nice shoot! It reminds me of mine and you’ve seen it. :)

  21. Oh, this is very nice! The water drop has such a bold black outline from some sort of reflection; it really makes for an attractive photo. :)

  22. Reblogged this on segadasdesenho and commented:
    Good

  23. Oh yes >>> absolutely >>>beautiful, Minimalist shot, Katie – excellent!!! I could very easily live with that on my wall, and each time I looked at it I would be inspired! Adrian

  24. water as a subject is always a sure wonder : ) great shot Katie!

Leave a Reply

 
