Boots and Spurs

Santa Fe is a town filled with art. There are statues and outdoor installations of art everywhere. It really is wonderful to walk around and just see what art pops out of the strangest places.

This shot was taken earlier this year of the detail of a historical statue near the post office in downtown Santa Fe. I love the detail on the boot and the spur. And the play of the light against the trees in the background, so out of ย focus, and yet they make an interesting pattern.

Santa Fe is a Western town at heart also, and I think this photo captures that spirit.

Image Copyright ยฉ Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on September 13, 2011.

8 Responses to “Boots and Spurs”

  1. Amazing details on this sculpture for sure! A sure sign you are in the southwest – boots and spurs.

    • Thanks, Amber! I was totally amazed at the details. I have other photos from that same statue–umm, still boots–and they have great detail. Yep, Southwest–boots, spurs and cowboys! ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for your comment!

  2. Love this image. It’s beautifully composed and looks like it’s in motion.

  3. Somehow I missed this post. I love the picture. Very west Texas, too. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thanks, Bob! I love this shot too, and since it was so early in my first week blogging, it was missed by a lot of people. I love it! Glad your Texas heart likes it too! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. I missed this post also. I had no idea it is a statue. Nice composition and it reflects the “real” west. I think you should put this one up on the wall.

    • Thanks, David! I love this shot, and I’m just surprised it hasn’t gotten more notice. ๐Ÿ™‚ Maybe I should re-post it? I do have it up as one of my first photos in my Fine Art Gallery, as I really love it. When you say put it up on the wall, I’m not sure exactly what you mean? Thanks as always for your comment, David!

Leave a Reply

 
