Beautifully Unobtainable

If you’ve ever walked around residential Santa Fe, you have no doubt noticed that many houses have walls built around them. I find this a bit mysterious (what secrets are hidden behind those walls?), but also a touch frustrating, as I love looking at the old houses around here.

Recently, I’ve been taking a series of shots that have the focus on a gate, but you can see through the gate to the house behind it, which is out of focus.  These photos symbolize that the gate is real and tangible, but what is behind it, is unobtainable. I like that visual effect of this technique; the longing for something that you can’t have.

I’ll share more of these type of photos, but for now here’s one that I took this week. This was shot at the stunning Mission Revival Style home, the Salmon-Greer house, at the corner of Don Gaspar Avenue and Paseo de Peralta ( http://www.historicsantafe.org/Bulletins/1985SalmonGreerHouse.pdf ).

Image Copyright © Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on September 15, 2011.

10 Responses to “Beautifully Unobtainable”

  1. Perfectly put Katie! Again and as always, thanks so much for sharing your special talent and open heart with us :>

  2. Great apeture setting or bokeh which ever you prefer. I like how it makes you really try to figure out what’s behind that gate. Plus nice iron work like that these days is hard to find.

    • Thanks so much, Chris! I was using F/2.8 and a medium zoom on that, so the gate was sharp but the background was blurred. I tried different apertures, but I liked how the bokeh/out of focus softness showed at f/2.8. That iron work is from the early 20th century, and I agree, that is hard to find in this day and age. I don’t think that house is as appreciated in this town of adobe and flat roof buildings (which I love) than it would be elsewhere. So glad you liked the photo!

  3. Really like this… very unattainable… lovely scrolling of the iron worked gate…and the entrance in the distance…lovely perspective.

    • Thanks, Amber! I’m glad you can see the craftsmanship of the gate and the entrance in the distance. Both are so beautiful and give the photo an elegance i think. I need to find more gates like that to do this type of photography! Thanks again, Amber, for your support!

  4. A wonderful technique, indeed! 🙂

  5. Wrought ironwork such as this is an art form in itself! and to recognise that requires a certain eye which you obviously have!….:)

    We are fortunate where we are that tis art is still very much practiced!

    Your shot here, however goes beyond the art and merely suggests that there is a life/lifestyle beyond the gate. always good to leave something for the viewers imagination!..

    Thank you for your visit and the “invitation” to view YOUR art!….:)

    • Thanks, Andy! I had other photos with a smaller aperture, which made the house more in focus, but I decided this one was best. Gotta just trust me on that. 🙂 I agree, ironwork like that is a work of art unto itself. 🙂 It lasts forever, and just to walk by that everyday is an honor. 🙂 Thanks for your comment! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
