Fire as a Dance

Last winter as I sat by my kiva fireplace, I admired the way the flames were dancing in the fire, so I picked up my camera and began to shoot. I was really fascinated with how the fire looked when I zoomed in really close  (I remember how it got a bit hot at times when I took the photos 🙂 ). I had to really work to get good images, as the fire couldn’t burn too strongly, but not too little either, and it had to have individual flames that were moving in an interesting way, but I wanted them soft also.

This photo is my favorite of the flame photos. I love the elegant and soft feel of the flames, the depth of the color, and the abstract feel of the photo.  Like a fire, for me, this photo gives me a warm feeling.

You can click on the photo to enlarge it.

Image Copyright © Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on September 15, 2011.

6 Responses to “Fire as a Dance”

  1. Makes me feel all warm inside- imagine toasting a marshmallow over the flame…
    I love the way the flames are dancing- quite vividly there- what a great shot for sure! I am no where near such a photographer- I don’t even think of looking at smaller details like this. lovely…as always.

  2. Oh, Amber, I’m so glad you like this photo, and see it the way i do. Truly. I’m going to try getting some more shots similar to this. It was truly a challenge the first time, but this shot has made me want to get more. So come on cold weather! I need a reason for a fire in the fireplace!

  3. This is amazing. The little sparkling makes it more sophisticated 🙂

  4. 🙂 This is a fantastic shot! Fire is hard to catch!!! Love your blog.

Leave a Reply

 
