Sometimes It Just Works

I try to go out every day and photograph something. Yesterday was strange. I went out with my macro lens in the morning to capture flowers before the autumn takes them away. I ran into one neighbor after another (which I really didn’t mind at all), and I lost the time I had to shoot, and what I did photograph just didn’t work.  I was trying to force good photos, and that just isn’t the way I want to work. Photos have to come to me organically. I see something that intrigues me, and then I shoot it.

I had some work to do in the afternoon (not photography though) and decided to take my camera with me. I ended up waiting for about five minutes for someone, so I got my camera out and just walked around. I wasn’t hopeful at all. Then I found a planter with a sweet potato plant, and those leaves are just lovely, so I took some shots and moved on. Next I saw some roses, and although they were pretty, I’ve shot a lot of roses lately, and so I wasn’t very enthusiastic. I had a fixed/prime lens on my camera, and the roses were over a fence in someones yard, so I really didn’t have that many possibilities for different angles. I went ahead and took some photos though.

I went home and processed my photos, and these two rose photos, I just loved.  It helped that we had some cloud cover, although unusual in Santa Fe, is very welcome, and it helped even more to have such gorgeous roses to shoot; roses that just caught the light perfectly.

Sometimes, it just works. Which thrills me.

I hope you like these photos too. Let me know what you think, please. Thank you.

Images Copyright © Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on September 16, 2011.

4 Responses to “Sometimes It Just Works”

  1. Nice !

  2. What you said is really true.. Sometimes it just works..you think its bad composition, lighting and other jargon but they do work 🙂

    Like the 1st image better than the second one !

    • Thank you! Yeah, sometimes things just work. 🙂 I think you’re referring to the angled rose that you like better. I agree, but I think both photos are nice. But the angled photo gives a slight softer feel I think. Thanks for your feedback!

Leave a Reply

 
