My British Shorthair Kitty

I have the most adorable British Shorthair cat. I cannot say enough about this wonderful kitty. The best personality I could ever ask for and the cutest round face and a wonderful Cheshire Cat grin. Β And he adores my dog, and they play and play and play (and my dog weighs 55 pounds πŸ™‚ ).

I adopted him as a year old cat. He came from a wonderful British Shorthair breeder, Β www.thistlevinebsh.com. I cannot say enough about how she raised this cat. When I got him, he was fine in his carrier, great in the car, got along great with my dog, liked other cats, liked to be brushed, Β fine with having his nails clipped, and used the litter box and scratching posts. I really had nothing to do but just feed him and love him. Now if I could just get a dog that was totally trained from the get go. πŸ™‚

And the best thing about my cat, he is so easy to photograph.

Image Copyright Β© Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on September 19, 2011.

26 Responses to “My British Shorthair Kitty”

  1. Beautiful πŸ™‚

  2. He is a very cool cat- love his expression- curiosity, soul searching, laughter, you should certainly post a few more of him… laying around- living the life of luxury and pampering!

    • Ah, Amber, you described my kitty to a tee! He is very affectionate also and just purrs and purrs. So wonderful. Life of luxury? My cat would rather live outside and hunt bugs. πŸ™‚ I can take photos of him sunning himself, sleeping all curled up though. Cute, cute, cut! And wait for Halloween, I have a photo that turns my kitty into an evil cat. πŸ™‚

  3. Wow looks like a great pic for Halloween!!! Love those eyes!

    • Ah, I hadn’t thought of this one for Halloween. Great idea, Rita. Kind of like he’s putting a spell on us! “Do what I tell you too.” Love it! thanks for your comment, Rita!

  4. oh he is just so cute, i wish i could snuggle with him. well… that is if my Stewie would not get too jealous. (-:

  5. Made me think of a big black Halloween cat. I, too, have a black cat, but mine has white patches on his belly, a white chest, white socks of varying sizes and a white smudge along side his nose… LOL This guy of yours looks to be a bit of a ‘ham’…. LOL πŸ™‚

    • Ah, yes, big black Halloween cat! I need to get him a nice pumpkin and take some photos. πŸ™‚ I love those black kitties! And yes, my kitty is a bit of a ham. He really doesn’t mind at all when I put the lens in his face. πŸ™‚ Thanks for commenting! And pet your kitty for me. πŸ™‚

  6. A nice shot!
    Have you ever heard about a Russian novel called ‘The Master and Margarita’? One of the characters in the book is a huge black demonic cat which can walk on two feet, talks lots of philosophy and plays jokes at people. He’s not a totally nasty guy, on the contrary, he’s quite charming. Well, anyway, I’m writing all that because that cat from ‘The Master and Margarita’ was the creature I remembered about when I saw this photo.

    • Hi Alexandra! Thanks for the referral on that book. I just put a hold on it in the library here! How cool that my kitty reminds you of him. Wonderful! And pet your wonderful kitty for me! Thanks again!

      • Thank you, I will! πŸ™‚
        The book is very special. It was written in times when people in USSR believed in nothing spiritual. They believed in no soul, no god or devil, no good or bad. And then suddenly the devil comes to Moscow and very very unexpected, incomprehensible for a typical Russian citizen of those days, things start to happen. The author was forever banned from all possible circles after writing that book. Sorry for taking so long, it’s just one of my favourite books, so I started talking about it and couldn’t stop:))
        And your cat does look like from that book. BTW his name was Behemoth πŸ™‚

      • Thanks so much, Alexandra for your review of the book. It sounds like I will love it, especially this time of year, with the change into Autumn. So sorry about the author though. I told my kitty (his name is Grimm) that he was a devil in a book. πŸ™‚ I can’t wait to read it! Thanks again for letting me know about this and visiting my blog!

  7. He is so lovely one and so adorable. You captured such a nice shot of him. How looking at your camera, as he knows what’s going on! I have cat too, she is my Princess πŸ™‚ Thank you Katie, Blessing and Happiness for you all, with my love, nia

  8. Awwww, your kitty is lovely! I’m a cat person, too. My Cleo (Snowshoe Siamese with the prettiest blue eyes) is going on 17 and she is also a very sweet thing.

    Great stuff here! I’m glad I stopped by!

    • Thank you! How wonderful you’re a cat person. I love cats! And Cleo sounds beautiful; I hope she lives many more happy and healthy years. Those Snowshoes are gorgeous cats, and blue eyes too. Any photos? Thanks so much for your compliments on my photos. I truly, truly appreciate it!

  9. So well shot and so very handsome! Black is tricky I think. I’m glad you came by so I can see your work.

    • Thank you! Yeah, black is hard to shoot. Luckily cats like to sit in the sun.:) I’m glad I stopped by your blog, as I loved those blue flowers. πŸ™‚ Thanks for your nice comments. Truly appreciate it!

  10. […] My kittyΒ is the most docile cat in the world. He has the cutest Cheshire Cat Smile, but on Halloween, and this might have something to do with the witch sightings, he just doesn’t have patience for such things. (: […]

  11. Aww πŸ™‚

  12. […] Today my British Shorthair kitty makes another appearance on my blog (shhh, don’t tell my Boxer dog ). Β If you’d like to see other photos of my kitty (which have been some of the most popular images on my blog), you can click here, here, and here. […]

  13. Super cute! I once had a black cat (just a stray lil kitten when i found him), and he had stunning green eyes – these 2 woulda been quite the pair lol! Gotta love a kitty πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

 
