Of Old Bungalows and Santa Fe

I love old Bungalows–those houses built in the early part of the 20th century with sprawling front porches, built-ins, window seats and oozing charm. Here, in Santa Fe, they are out of style. We have “Santa Fe Style” and that doesn’t include these 100-year-old pitched roof beauties.

But there are some still left, especially in the South Capitol area near downtown (the Don Gaspar Historic District – http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Don_Gaspar_Historic_District). I love these old homes that reek of history and a certain defiance against the style that came to pervade this city. I love walking around and just watching these houses and noticing the little details that I become enthralled with at certain times — right now it’s transom windows over front doorways.

Anyhow, I’ve taken some photos of these houses, but mostly just normal shots so I can see what they look like, and just adore them. But yesterday, as I walked around, the sun was low in the sky, and this one bungalow, that is now part of an inn (http://www.dongaspar.com/), just looked lovely with the sun and shadows playing on it.  I’ve shot this bungalow a few times, trying to get the interesting front gate and wall, but the shots were never what I would call great shots. But this one that occurred to me yesterday, I really like.  It shows the nice lantern and then in the background, the form of that pitched roof and front porch that I so adore about these houses.  I just really enjoy the composition of this photo; it feels like coming home.

Image Copyright © Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on September 20, 2011.

5 Responses to “Of Old Bungalows and Santa Fe”

  1. Love this house! And you’ve done a beautiful job capturing all those lines in such a tight shot. Well done, girl!

  2. I simply adore this house. and I love the photo you included in this post. Thanks for sharing this

  3. […] gate in snow photo. I’ve taken photos of these lanterns on a couple other occasions; I posted an image of the lantern in front of its house in warmer weather a few months […]

Leave a Reply

 
