Dancing Flowers – 2

This is another of my Dancing Flowers series that I was experimenting with (see the original post here https://katiescamerablog.wordpress.com/2011/09/19/dancing-flowers/. I had bought a small bunch of daffodils at Trader Joes, and I put them into a drinking glass and began to shoot. I started by taking some stock type photos on black backgrounds. I thought those photos were very pretty and striking, but I wanted more.

I then tried more creative angles. At one point, I tried the twisting camera technique, and I got this shot. I think this is interesting; I like the juxtaposition between the straight stems and the flowers which are making a circular pattern. The photo makes me thing of spring, and the renewal of life, and the burst of energy and growth that happens at that time of year; maybe a spring dance.

Looking at the photo now, I do think maybe that I should have put a white cloth on the table, so the photo would have been about the flowers, and the motion, and not had that contrasting color of the table. Or perhaps, the brown of the wood table could represent the soil of the Earth?

What do you think?  (click the photo to enlarge )

Image Copyright © Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.


~ by KatiesCameraBlog on September 21, 2011.

6 Responses to “Dancing Flowers – 2”

  1. Pre-focusing on a part,and a nice twist with the camera,then almost directly shooting gives a better result (imo) ,then the center part is in focus and the rest blurred around 🙂

    Experiments rule!

    • Hi Youri, I think part of it standing still, in focus, would be good, but I’m not sure it would happen. I did have it focused, but then when twisting, of course, things are moving, so nothing stood still to get that focus there. More experimentation needed! 🙂 When you said directly shooting, what exactly did you mean? Thanks!

  2. Your title “Dancing Flowers” reminded me of the picture I posted at

    http://portraitsofwildflowers.wordpress.com/2011/06/19/mountain-pink-bud/

    In that instance the “dancing” was imparted by my imagination (and the imaginations of viewers who beheld the same thing) rather than by movement of the camera. A decade ago I did experiment with camera movement, but for portraits of people rather than wildflowers. And back in nature I often confront subjects set in motion by the wind, but I usually choose a high shutter speed to stop that motion rather than a low one that would yield a blurred image. Your pleasant picture suggests a cross between cubism and impressionism.

    Steve Schwartzman
    http://portraitsofwildflowers.wordpress.com

    • Thanks for your take, Steve! I would love to see some of your camera movement photos that you did on people portraits. How interesting. And yes, the wind in nature. I shoot outside most of the time, and high shutter speeds are a must to stop that wind. I’ve not played much with allowing the wind to move the flower, as I’m doing a lot with my macro lens, so not sure if it would work that way, maybe with a mid range, or wide angle though. But it’s an interesting idea that has my mind thinking. Lovely photos on your blog! And great information on shooting also.

  3. Hi Katie,

    I like this image a lot. The motion is beautiful. In post, I would add a bit of contrast and brighten it slightly (be wary of clipping though). I think this kind of creative exploration is the gateway to great things (your vision, compelling images, interacting with subjects to create something as well as freezing a moment and others you will find and grow) – Awesome.

    My biggest wish is that you would save the pictures larger. Look at trying a different blog theme that will allow for wider images – you have nice work, it needs to be seen. At the very least, save the images at the maximum size that this theme allows.

    Keep exploring and have a great time – I can see you are doing both in spades.

    Cheers,

    Chris

    • Thanks so much, Chris. I truly appreciate your feedback. I’ll try adjusting the photo with contrast and brightness (easy one there :), and see how the photo turns out.

      And thanks so much for your encouragement for creative exploration. I need those kinds of words really.

      On the size of the photos–what size do you suggest? I could just download one of your photos and check, but umm. I’m a photographer, so I don’t like doing that to someone else’s work. 🙂 I have the photos the size they are, because that’s just the standard size that all my clients want, and i don’t want to make them so large that they load slow on some computers. But then people do have the choice to click and make them larger, so it wouldn’t matter all that much. And i could do one post per page too. So options on that front. This blogging is all new to me, so learning quickly here. 🙂

      Thanks again for your advice and encouragement. I really am grateful for the feedback!

Leave a Reply

 
