Finally the Shot — Wind Chime

I had taken my camera to a wind chime in my yard at times during the summer. I had tried every lens I had, except for the one I use most in my professional life, my wide angle. One day earlier this month, I just decided to take some of my creative shots with that lens.

With the wide angle lens, I took some funny photos of my dog (you know the ones where the dog’s head looks distorted? Those type πŸ™‚ ). And then I turned it on the wind chime. A wide angle lens tends to distort what’s nearest to the lens, and it did that in this photo, but it also made the wind chime look yards long and the trees look like they go on forever. And the sun did wonderful work with the background.

I really like this affect, and with this shot, I really don’t feel the need to go and shoot that wind chime again any time soon. Well, maybe with snow on it, or after a rain, or ….

Image Copyright Β© Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on September 22, 2011.

36 Responses to “Finally the Shot — Wind Chime”

  1. Amazing. I love it. πŸ™‚

  2. I like that shot too!

  3. I love the shot. It’s very unique.

  4. Fantastic! LOVE the perspective and creative use of the wide angle lens!

  5. I love this picture! The sense of infinite spiral through your depth of field and angle is awesome.

    • I was amazed when the shot came out also. I usually just use that lens for my architecture work, and obviously, I need to use it for more creative close up photography. I love the way you put “infinite spiral.” it does seem to go on forever. I truly wish the trees in my yard were like that! πŸ™‚ Thanks for your comment!

      • No problem at all. I appreciated the time you took to comment on mine, and I’m glad you did because I discussed your photography! I’m always looking for feedback on mine- what works, what doesn’t, what could be done better. So I know the feeling.

        What kind of camera do you use?

      • I really appreciate feedback also. I know I like my work, but that doesn’t always mean my eye is all that good. πŸ™‚ Thanks so much for commenting!

  6. Awesome shot!!

  7. I love this shot… what an amazing thing- all from a change of lens! Goes to show how much I know! The wind chime just looks like it goes on for miles!

    • Thank you, Amber!!!! I love that shot too. Soo cool that it goes on forever. I need to take that wide angle lens out for my daily walks and see what I can come up with. Thanks so much for your support!

  8. Beautiful pic! A very similar wind chime is in my home too. πŸ™‚

    Thanks for the comment on my blog. πŸ™‚

  9. Nice bokeh too ;-]

  10. The chime really does look incredibly long! Very calming and peaceful photo. Great image.

  11. Aside from the beautiful photograph you have me wanting that windchime! I haven’t seen other captures of your bells, but this on is perfect!

  12. I like how you have the bells up close and then slowly spiraling upwards getting smaller and smaller.
    Thanks….
    http://www.thecameraangle.wordpress.com

    • I really love the view of the bells that way. Somehow, all my photos with the different lenses were at a similar angle, but this I just thought was the best. Thanks for commenting.

  13. Lovely photos; I especially like this one. Thanks for including some technical info. That’s always interesting & helpful to me since I enjoy photography too.

  14. I like this shot – nice total package of lighting, perspective, composition, depth of field.

  15. It’s cool that you kept going back to the same subject, even though it hadn’t really worked out, until you made this serendipitous discovery. It seems counterintuitive, but sometimes tenacity and repetition really does bring artistic inspiration!

  16. It’s a beautiful Shot

  17. YES YES YES!!!
    When I read “wind chime” I was hoping it was this one.
    LOOOOOOVE it. It’s perfect. Everything about it…. It’s on my faves list :>

Leave a Reply

 
