Shapes in Photography

I use a macro lens a lot (those close-ups), as I just love how it makes me look at the world in a different way. I see things that I would never see, and it makes me look for interesting patterns and designs in minute details.

I was staying at someone’s house earlier this year, and I took out my macro lens and went around taking photos. I took photos of anything that caught my eye, an old doll, a bell, tiny statues, the flowers, little keepsakes. Anything that I thought might make an interesting photo.

The photo below is one of my favorites. To be perfectly honest, I have no idea what is in this photo. Β What it was part of. No idea. πŸ™‚ Β I just know that I love the shapes, those curves and the lines, and the out of focus background, that is lit and gives the photo depth. And how the light and shadow plays along the curves of the metal. Β I do kind of wish I had backed up just a bit, and had a bit more Β room at the top of the photo on the left, and maybe I should Photoshop that blueΒ out of the lower right. Β  But still, I just find this photo interesting to look at and it pleases my eye.

Thoughts? Do you like this type of photo?

Image Copyright Β© Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on September 22, 2011.

40 Responses to “Shapes in Photography”

  1. I love macro-photography too! For the same reasons. All the cool patterns or interesting shapes that seem to show up out of a slew of things.
    This is a cool photo.

  2. I really like this shot. I also think it’s great that you don’t know what it is:)…adds some mystery to it. Someday I’d like to get a macro lens. It seems like it would open up a whole new world of photography. Need to save my pennies. You take really nice shots.

    • I just want to say first and again, LOVE your Great Blue Heron shot. πŸ™‚ And thanks so much for your support on this photo. A macro lens is fantastic. I have the older Nikon 105mm f/2.8. I’d love the new one, but i can’t afford it, so this one is a favorite of mine (and still works wonderfully). It really does open up a whole new world in photography. Hope you get some money soon for a macro lens. πŸ™‚ And thanks again for your comment.

  3. Oh, I love Macro photography and I’ve done a few of these myself… so close up that people had trouble figuring out what the subject was…. LOL

    Thanks for visiting my photo blog and sharing your thoughts with me. I greatly enjoy visiting here. πŸ™‚

    • LOL! I want to see those close up shots that you can’t tell what they are. I love that type of photography. Take one of your husky’s nose. πŸ™‚ Thanks so much for coming and visiting my blog. I really appreciate it! Smooches to your dog!

  4. After seeing your photos i just think one thing… i must get into macro photography,.. πŸ™‚ amazing work you have here congratulations

    • Thank you so much, Filipe. I really love your work too. Some great stuff on your blog. Wish I had nature like that around me; I wouldn’t be using the macro lens then! πŸ˜‰ Thanks again for your kind words.

  5. So you’ve got a thing for squiggles, too, eh? πŸ˜‰

    I could live in the valley of the details which is why I so love macro. Doesn’t matter what exactly it is. Great tones here and wonderful lighting!

  6. I love what you said about not knowing what to expect. I can sit for hours staring through a macro lens at a single bouquet of flowers. Moving the vase ever so slightly will result in very different “scenes”. Keep up the good work.

    • Exactly! Close-up type work means being exact at your composition, and just changing one thing can change the photo totally. And then add the wind in, if your’re outside, and it takes it to a whole different level. πŸ™‚ All part of a lovely puzzle to put together. Thanks so much for your comment!

  7. I like the shapes, the light, the shadows — they are the image now. Doesn’t matter what it was. The photo is the photo. I like the monochromatic character of the image where the soft colors are secondary to the forms. You mentioned that you liked B&W photography when you commented on my recent post (thanks for the kind words). Why not try a conversion to B&W? You might be pleasantly surprised.

  8. I like this photograph as well, It’s all about lines and curves, works for me! Sometimes it’s hard to quantify what it is about a photograph that makes it work, so when that happens I just quit trying to figure it out and go with it.

  9. Love this shot! I’m a fan of shallow DOF and contrasty processing myself:)
    Thanks for giving me hope warranty-wise with Betsy – *fingers crossed, but beginning that list to Santa!* πŸ™‚

    • I love shallow DOF and close ups too. Here’s hoping Nikon gives you the warranty (tell them you’re a pro and beg them to fix it). Best of luck. And Dear Santa…. πŸ™‚ Thanks so much for your comment!

  10. I loooooooooove this photo Katie πŸ˜€ !!! My heart desires a macro lens – – – as I also love shooting close-ups etc. – – – (I only have a standard kit lens)!!! But in the meantime I will keep on practising until the day that I can fully enjoy (&use) a macro lens!!!

    LOL … I also walk around shooting random objects!! Sometimes loving the outcome!! πŸ™‚ **

    • Thank you so much, Xandre! I enjoyed looking at your photos too. Your work would love a macro lens! πŸ™‚ Mine is the older Nikon one, and it is great. I know the newer one would be a bit better, but this lens is wonderful. I’ve used standard kit lenses too, and I think they’re wonderful for developing your eye. And great for walking around and just taking photos of what you see; they’re very versatile.:) Thanks so much for your wonderful comment! So glad you like love my photo!

  11. This is amazing! Thrilled to have found your blog.

  12. Love it πŸ™‚

  13. Yes, I do like this type of photo. I often find curves like this in the tendrils of vines. You’re right that a macro lens opens a whole world to us.

    Steve Schwartzman
    http://portraitsofwildflowers.wordpress.com

  14. I love things like this too – and the rustier the better (got a great one coming up on my November calendar page). As for the bit of blue, I’m not a big fan of photoshopping things out myself, but I can see what you mean. I try to have a good look around the frame before I shoot and maybe adjust my angle to exclude things – but sometimes you’ve just got to reach for the brush or make it a feature. Luckily, blue and rust go so well together.

    • Thank you, Paula. So glad you like this type of photos. I’m back and forth on that blue really. I know I could simply take the raw image and adjust the blue saturation when first processing the photo, but as you said, rust and blue look good together. Can’t wait to see what you put up for your next calendar pager. Your current photo is wonderful. Thanks for your comment!

  15. See it is things like this that are weird but look totally beautiful in the right shot and you nailed it!

  16. Nice!! What kind of camera do you use? I have the EOS Canon Rebel T3 (: Hoping to get another lens! πŸ˜€

    • I actually think it’s the lens that does the work to be honest. The lens on this photo was an older Nikon 105mm f/2.8 macro. You’re Canon, so I’m sure there is a corresponding lens for it. I honestly swear by my lenses over the camera. A decent camera with good lenses makes a world of difference for me. And it’s so much fun with these f/2.8 lenses. Ohmygod, it’s fun. πŸ™‚ Thanks for visiting and your nice comment!

  17. Just wonderful this view of the wind chimes. It always intrigues me to see how other people take photos from perspectives I had not considered….great life lesson in this! I am on a binge of taking close up shots of textures in nature and using them as background s for my poetry. Great fun. Thanks for your visit to my blog. hugs, pat

    • Thank you so much, Pat! I’m so glad you like to see other perspectives. I totally agree on that; it gets a person thinking outside normal composition guidelines and you can create amazing shots. I love your idea for close up shots of nature for texture! I’ve been starting to do that too. I was thinking of posting a set of those just today. Thanks for putting your words into the comment, as it’s great encouragement! πŸ™‚

  18. You inspire me to go macro…..oh how I need a lens πŸ˜‰

    I love the shapes and depth here. Depth of color and the deep feeling it gives off. Well done.

  19. I’m a big fan of abstract art and this one is very cool πŸ™‚

    • Oh yes, you do! πŸ™‚ I really love abstract art too. I’m really trying to see if I can find those shapes naturally around me to photograph. Thanks so much for comment! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

 
