A Simple Pretty Flower for a Sunday

Happy Sunday, Everyone! I was busy shooting with my macro lens at the Santa Fe Farmers Market yesterday, which was so much fun!  And this morning I’m tasked with seeing if I can take a certain photo, so we’ll see.

For a Sunday, I wanted to post this pretty flower photo that I took at the end of August, while on a photo walk. I just thought it turned out lovely. I used my macro lens, and in the raw processing I softened the “clarity”, which gave it a more soft edge around it, although keeping the detail of it. I just love the look of the photo, and it just makes me a bit happy. I hope the photo has the same effect on you!

Image Copyright © Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on September 25, 2011.

22 Responses to “A Simple Pretty Flower for a Sunday”

  1. That makes me happy, too, Katie. 🙂

  2. Very nice!!

  3. amazing photo. macros on flowers are allways great 😉 congratz

  4. It is a very pretty flower. 🙂

  5. Such a happy flower! Especially nice to see this time of year when most are fading. Nice work, as usual, Katie!

  6. Beautiful flower, do you know what it is? One of these days I’m going to make it to Santa Fe… when I do I want to go to this market!! Might I ask what camera and macro lens you use?… I’m curious.

    • I don’t know what that flower was. 😦 I was just walking around and there it was. I so wish I knew!!! Sorry about that. I use a Nikon camera and the lens is more important than the camera. The lens for this photo is a 105mm macro f/2.8. It’s not the new one, It’s the older version, and still works really well. I bought it used and have had it in my bag for a goodly number of years now. I love it! 🙂 Hope that helps!

  7. Very nice. I like the post processing, it gives the photo a very nice texture!

  8. The reduction in clarity was a very nice touch.

    • Thanks, Lloyd! I agree. The shot was nice enough, but for my eye, just moving that clarity slider in Photoshop made the difference from a nice photo to something more. Thanks so much for the comment!

  9. Lovely shot. Flowers bring life to everyone … in more than one way. 🙂

  10. Beautiful photo!

  11. This is a beautiful flower photograph, and yes, made me happy too. How I love flowers… It reminds me my UK days in Devizes… This pink flower was a poetical touches for our days dear Katie, Thank you, with my love, nia

    • So glad this photo touched you in that way. I love flowers too, and I’m really trying to capture them in some way that explains what’s special about them; something of their character; I’m so glad you can see such things, Nia. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
