Ah Yes, Another Photo for the Season :)

I was over at the Santa Fe Farmer’s Market over the weekend, taking photos. I mostly used my trusty macro lens, as I am just not too enthused about getting lots of distractions in the background of my photos, and I wanted more close-ups of all those mounds of veggies. I went early, so I’d get the better sun, and to be there before huge crowds.

I took lots of photos of all those vegetables, and boy, I loved it. So many shapes and lines and great color.  I’ll share more of the photos I took later, but for now, I want to show you this photo.

I wanted to do a “fall” photo, as I’ve seen so many lately, but I wanted to do it a bit differently. I saw this pumpkin and just loved the stem on it — how it twisted and the color of it. Plus, I knew the veggies and greens in the background would be out of focus, yet really add to the photo, and contrast to the colors in the pumpkin and stem. So I took a few shots and this is the photo I like best.

Image Copyright © Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on September 26, 2011.

34 Responses to “Ah Yes, Another Photo for the Season :)”

  1. I’m in love 🙂 Beautiful!!

  2. Awwww Thank You!! Children have a certin purity about them that the camera just loves and most the kids I shoot have wonderful skin tone!! You are so welcome for the support.. Who wouldn’t wupport you with the shots you take?!?!

    • I know, children are just the best to take, I think. So natural and unguarded. And just so much fun to take photos of them being themselves! And oh my! Thank you so much for your compliment!!!! Wow! I am still so new at showing these type of photos, that every compliment just makes me want to keep doing it, so thank you very much. 🙂

  3. What a great harvest picture! Love how you used the depth of field.

  4. It’s very beautiful! I love pumpkins, totally reminds me that it’s time to go get one or six. 😄 I love the angle too!

  5. Definitely can’t have fall without pumpkins! Very nice capture. The DOF is perfect for this shot.

  6. You have an amazing eye! I love your work. Yotaki

  7. The stem of that pumpkin looks really good. I would’ve never thought that would be a nice photo. Very nice post

  8. One of my favorite times of the year, as the winter squash and pumpkins herald the changing of the seasons, an dI start craving those rich and savory comfort foods. Beautiful pumpkin

  9. Counting down for Halloween 🙂

  10. reminds me of the poem Peter Peter pumpkin eater !!

    Pheno

  11. http://photographyofnia.wordpress.com/2011/09/27/another-versatile-blogger-award-today/

  12. Fall! Oh, how I love fall! I’m wondering if we’ll have pumpkins in Romania … What will I do without a pumpkin patch to photograph my children in? =>

  13. Great eye to find this and capture this pumpkin. I so agree with the macro. Looks like a photograph I would have liked to take!

  14. Looking good Katie! Going to an apple orchard this weekend. Cheers!

  15. Lovely. Nothing says fall like a pumpkin. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
