Mariachi Stringed Instrument – Detail

Today, I’m showing you a photo I took two weeks ago at the Fiesta de Santa Fe. I had been taking photos of the event and the Mariachis were a large part of this. This was my third day down at the Fiesta. The first day was all about event type photos. The 2nd day, I was getting more creative.

I always show my photos to a friend, and she suggested a shot where I focus totally on the hand playing the strings of the guitarron mexicano. I thought that with the crowds, I would have to get really close and ask permission to do that, which would be hard as the person would be playing his instrument–so not any easy shot.

I kept my friend’s idea in mind, however, and the next day, at a certain point I put my macro lens on my camera. ย It was early Sunday morning, so the crowds were minimal. There was a new group of Mariachis, so I went over. I was taking photos of the other players, and then I just decided that the crowds were small, and I was just going to go in for my shot. The musician looked at me at first, and I just smiled at him, and he went back to playing. ย Unfortunately, just as I was getting the camera settings the way I needed them for the shot, the song was ending, and I was only able to click a couple of times. Luckily enough, though, this was my last shot.

Image Copyright ยฉ Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on September 26, 2011.

16 Responses to “Mariachi Stringed Instrument – Detail”

  1. Nice !

  2. Great idea just focusing on the instrument and the hand playing. Very interesting perspective!

    • Thank you! I was so happy I got this shot. I had taken a few that weren’t my idea of a great perspective, and working on the fly like that, means working fast. ๐Ÿ™‚ And I love his hands. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for your comment!

  3. Love it! This is one of my faves of yours. It was perfect timing for the perfect shot. I can almost hear the music and feel NM ๐Ÿ˜‰ Thanks so much for taking this and sharing it!

  4. I like that picture! ๐Ÿ˜€ By the way…. what camera do you use?..

  5. I really like this photo too- Often the focus is on the entire troupe and not just certain individuals, or the elegance of thier instrument. jsut like when you took the photo of the costume…this really is a great view….

    • Ah, thank you, Amber. I have shots of the group, but I agree, it’s more fun to get details of things. My favorite group shot of these guys was when they had just finished playing and they were congratulating each other. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for your feedback, Amber!

  6. I can only smile at the fact that we take a lot of similar photo’s.. I am in love with guitars and my cousin plays, so I take a lot of shots of him playing!! I’ll be doing a post on his band sone and showcasing some photo’s like this one!! I am so glad I found your blog ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Beautifully you captured. I know it is not easy. It is a great fun to take pictures of musicians. A few years ago I’d experienced this because of my husband, he is playing African djembee. You reminded me this now. On the other hand, Santa Fe should be so beautiful place. I can imagine this fiesta, as if I can hear the music too… Thank you dear Katie, it would be so nice to visit and to be there with you, in Santa Fe! Greetings and Love, nia

    • Glad the photo reminded you of the experience with your husband, Nia. I have a lot more photos of the Fiesta and Santa Fe, that I’ll share at some point. So many to go through! ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks so much for always visiting my blog,

  8. … yes, I can dream this too, but I wanted to say, Thank you dear Katie, it would be so nice to visit and to be there with you through your photography, in Santa Fe! Greetings and Love, nia

Leave a Reply

 
