Patterns and Abstract in Photography – 2

When I was out taking photos last week, I was consciously trying to see patterns in nature and trying to photograph them in interesting ways. And then this morning, Pat Cegan (http://patcegan.wordpress.com/) commented on one of my photos that she was taking photos of just that subject to use as background for her poetry. I had thought I wanted to show these particular shots I took late last week, as I wanted to see what people thought of them, so Pat’s comment has me doing just that.

As to the method, it’s taking a bit of trial and error with these type shots. Learning what my eye is liking and getting it to transform into the photo, and finding patterns that look good too. So it’s not just shoot and I have the photo (if only photography were that easy πŸ™‚ ).

On these photos, I’ve used a medium range zoom on these — a 35-70mm f/2.8. An older Nikon lens, but it’s nice and sharp, and gives really good results. I find for these type of photos, I like it better than the macro (so far) as I can get further back, and then it makes for better patterns, as there is less detail. Β These flowers were just some wild flowers that were overgrown by the side of the road. I liked how they kind of reminded me of faint stars in the sky.

Anyhow, please let me know what you think of these photos. Thanks, Everyone!

Images Copyright Β© Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on September 26, 2011.

21 Responses to “Patterns and Abstract in Photography – 2”

  1. Nice job, Katie. I am now looking at my shots to see where I can put the poems. For instance, a short poem would fit nicely in the lower right hand side on this photo. I love how you have the focus on the left and the wonderfully soft out-of-focus on the rest of the picture. I often just walk along the trails and dirt roads of Santa Branca and take pictures of flowers that God planted. I love their randomness and surprise. Thanks for mentioning me here. Watch Source of Inspiration for more photo exploring. Hugs, pat

    • Thanks so much, Pat! With you mentioning putting photos on one side of the poem, that gives me ideas for using some photos in different ways. i have some photos like that, but from a pure standpoint of composition (to my eye) are a bit off, but they’d work great for what you do. I have to go back and look at some photos for that idea. Thanks for commenting, Pat!

  2. Very dreamy… yes, they do look like stars in the sky. I would say perfect choice of lens since they are beautiful photos with nice clear subject, dof and nice bokeh!

  3. I like the softness of the photos πŸ™‚

  4. Lovely …so nice and soft…and if it were paired with a lovely poem or inspirational quote…could be quite uplifting! Love the star effect… so pretty- what a talent for sure!

  5. Soooo soft and dreamy! A wonderful blend of tones, too.

  6. Katie, love your blog. These particular pictures have a nice dream like quality. Also, thanks for visiting my blog.

  7. I have a photo similar to these that I just took yesterday!! I’ll post soon!! You have an amazing eye, good work!!

  8. I love how they soften as they go back. I love love love these kind of flower shots.

  9. These are amazing photos. Thanks for sharing.

  10. I am impressed by both of you, dear Katie, these are so beautiful. Thank you for sharing with us. Your works are so artistic and also so poetical too. How inspirational touches you captured. Fascinated. With my love, nia

Leave a Reply

 
