Closing in – Succulent

This is a photo that I took on a walk a few weeks ago. This plant is some type of succulent that lives a lot around here, and this one was in front of a house down the street. I just thought a photo looking straight down into it would be interesting.

I love the way the curly branches give it a more playful tone. (click on the photo to enlarge it)

Image Copyright © Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on September 29, 2011.

32 Responses to “Closing in – Succulent”

  1. perfect how the colors and textures work together here. A beautiful natural shot.

  2. that curling is fantastic … an amazing photo definitly 🙂

  3. Love the curly thingies! That’s definitely not what you think of when you think of a cactus!

  4. LOVE 🙂

  5. Nice!! …bet this would look pretty cool in B&W .

  6. Pretty nifty shot.

  7. I love it, those curlies don’t seem natural or real, knowing they are is an interesting thing to think about.

  8. Dear Katie, I love your eye of camera, you catch and captured so interesting objects and moments, as this one, I loved it, standing so artistic too. Thank you, with my love, nia

  9. It feels like falling…or rising up…quite lovely.

  10. what a great angle!- interesting! It does make those curls look unreal – almost posed! Love it..!

  11. So glad I found time to come back to your site today – the explanation of my favourite photo makes me enjoy it even more. Macro is a whole bunch of fun – and a whole bunch of work sometimes.

  12. Very pretty. 🙂

  13. Yep, lovely photo, Katie, and I would never have guessed what the macro shot was in a thousand years – thank goodness I only spent 15 mins on it!

    Thanks for the puzzle!

    Take care!

    John

  14. I believe this is some variety of Agave, as there are countless members of the ‘agavaceae’ family. Lovely perspective!

    • I think you’re right on the Agave. Some type of plant in that family. Thanks for your comment! And thanks for visiting my blog!

      • I have been somewhat obsessed with succulents since a very young age, specifically cacti, so it seemed quite familiar. I saw a program on PBS about the farming of Blue Agave (agave tequilana) for the production of tequila. The harvesters (jimadores) told a very interesting story of the harvesting techniques involved and how they go about obtaining the core (piñas) of the plant.

      • Ooh, I like that you have been obsessed about succulents. What a cool program to watch.I should look it up. Thank you!

  15. Well, I couldn’t wait to find out what it was after posting my ‘guess’ that it wasn’t from Nature and had to be Man-made.

    The ironic part about the original photo is that I have photographed it so many times in recent months in the cacti & succulent area of the Botanic Gardens near where I live – of all people, I should have guessed what it was.

    I believe it’s name to be ‘Agave geminiflora – Agavaceae – from Mexico’

Leave a Reply

 
