Moons and a Sun

When I bought my first digital camera, the first thing I started to shoot was the moon. I love the night sky, and the moon in particular. I really enjoy looking at the moon and how she constantly changes; I find it fascinating.

These photos were taken with my camera attached to my telescope, which gives me a lens of 720mm f/6.8. Without a doubt, this is the longest lens I own. Not handy for walking around, but good for longer range subjects where the camera won’t be moving. Ā I also have a filter that allows me to look at the sun with a naked eye, and I’ve included here a photo that I took of the sun also.

These are my favorite photos of the moon and sun by themselves.

Images Copyright Ā© Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on September 30, 2011.

43 Responses to “Moons and a Sun”

  1. Those are just amazing… fantastic photos. The level of detail is just fantastic.

  2. These are amazing šŸ™‚

  3. WOW Katie, gorgeous! What a beautiful gift.

  4. Stunning photography!!!!

  5. Amazing Photos! What kind of equipment are you using? Thanks for sharing! Looking forward to see more of you!

    • Thank you! I use a Nikon DSLR and then with this photo, my Televue Pronto telescope as a lens (great!). On other photos, it’s my f/2.8 Nikon lenses(wide angle/mid range zoom/macro/long telephoto). I adore them! Thanks for visiting my blog and your wonderful comment!

  6. Love it! That picture of the sun reminds me of a lot of futuristic science fiction novels where the atmosphere has changed and the sun just looks different. It’s a very interesting view from that filter.

    I really love the moon with the clouds, where you can see the ring where the full moon is, it’s just so peaceful looking. I love it.

    • Thank you so much! When I’ve looked at the sun through my telescope (with filter), it’s really interesting how it looks so different than what we see normally. It’s why I like the photo so much. So glad you visualized something from it. I love that shot of the moon with the clouds too. It was a Halloween card a few years back. šŸ™‚ i was trying to capture the Earthshine, which you mentioned (the dark part that you can still see of the moon), and was so pleased that I did. Had to overexpose the bright side, but then, that’s all good. šŸ™‚ Thanks so much for noticing all you did!

  7. Very cool photos! šŸ˜€

  8. Beautiful!

  9. What a mysterious mood flowing out of the pictures. They could make me into a werewolf any moment. I particularly like the picture of the resting moon on the clouds. So full of questions and open to interpretation. Great shots!

  10. Lovely! How clever of you to use your telescope in this manner! I love the shot with the clouds…very dreamy indeed. šŸ™‚

    • Ah, thank you! I was so thrilled when I first got the telescope and it said I could use it with my camera. šŸ™‚ Thanks as always for your great comment, and yeah, I love the cloud shot too!

  11. Awesome shots! šŸ™‚ Wish I could capture it like that… Some day I’ll have more toys.

  12. Wow outstanding photos…can’t pick a favorite!

  13. great images šŸ™‚ thanks for dropping by my blog and taking time to leave a comment – appreciated šŸ™‚

  14. These are fantastic!!! I used to have such a difficult time with moon photos, I have a great appreciation for the detail in these! Great shots!!!

  15. YUM!!!

  16. Wow, what a beautiful and mysterious first object of interest for you and your camera šŸ™‚ Congratulations for your astral photographic debut.

  17. these are just stunning! How do you hook the camera to the telescope?

    • Thank you! Way back when I first bought the telescope, say 2001 or so, they had adapters that fit various camera makes (Nikon, Canon, etc.), so I got one of those. The adapter attaches just like a lens does and then this attaches directly to the telescope, so you’re looking through the telescope with your camera, so not riding piggy back. If you have any other questions, let me know. Oh, the telescope is a Tele Vue Pronto, if that helps. They’re not making it anymore, but it’s a good scope for what it does (not a SCT, etc., if you know telescopes).

  18. Beautiful shots. My favorites is the one with the moon and clouds. I always wanted to try astrophotography with a telescope.

  19. I love all of these photos. Taking photos through a telescope is such a great idea – I never would have thought of that.

  20. Spectacular!!! Love the one of the moon’s dark side and light side the most… šŸ™‚

  21. I remember spending 2 hours in Bermuda trying to capture the moon. I really didn’t know my camera that well, but by the end, I had one shot I loved. So my hat is off to you – so many wonderful shots. I especially like the crescent moon that has kind of feathery edge and the outline of the rest of the moon is there too…

    • Thanks, Paula! The moon can be hard to capture, but once you figure it out, it’s not as hard. I love that shot with the Earthshine also. It was my Halloween card years back. šŸ™‚ Thanks for visiting!

  22. Wow! Stunning! Another technique of photography that I’ve just learned it by now.

    Thanks for sharing it šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

 
