Abstract Photography – Santa Fe Style

I met a friend for coffee yesterday (thanks, Adrienne!), so I walked down to meet her.  I took my camera with me and my mid range Nikon zoom (35-70mm f/2.8). I like this lens as a general walk around lens, as I need that f/2.8 to isolate subjects and, although I wish it had more range, it’s a quality lens, and I really like the results I get with it.

Anyhow, I was walking, and trying to figure out what to take that I hadn’t taken before. I walked up Shelby Street, which is a small street next to Old Santa Fe Trail. On the corner of Shelby and Water Street there is a gallery, and in front of it, there were those lovely grasses, that I’ve taken before. In the background there was the typical Santa Fe Style building that’s now used for a government business.

I’m really trying to work with textures, and lines and depth in my photos, and I thought that with the building far enough away, and the grass doing its normal curve and soft feel, I thought this might work.  I focused on the part of the plant that was closest to my lens, and I started to shoot.

When shooting outside, with plants and wind, I have to set the camera settings, compose the shot, and then just shoot multiple exposures, as the wind moves the plant around, so exact composition isn’t really possible.

This is the photo I liked best. I love the soft curves of the plant and how it takes up a lot of the photo, drawing the eye up and to the right.  I love this juxtaposition with the harder vertical and horizontal lines of the building. I also love the soft feel of the photo also. If I had used a smaller aperture, say a F/8, too much of the photo would have been in focus, sharp, which would have been too harsh to my eye.

Anyhow, here is the photo. What do you think?

Image Copyright © Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on October 1, 2011.

25 Responses to “Abstract Photography – Santa Fe Style”

  1. I really like the lines in this photo. What was your aperture?

  2. Thanks, Helen! The aperture was f/2.8. When using this mid range zoom, I pretty much stay there for these types of photos. Thanks so much for commenting.

  3. I love the out-of-focus area and the area of sharpness. I think my favorite aperture to shoot is 1.4 because of the bokeh!

    • Thanks, Meredith! I love the larger apertures too! It just narrows down the focus and gives a softer feel. With macros though, and close up, I have to watch how open I go, as it can lead to too limited DOF. But basically my camera’s always on 2,8, unless for some reason I want to change it. 🙂 Thanks for your comment!

  4. Well done!!

  5. 🙂 Nice and soft, and I love the colour of the grass against the lighter background. 🙂

  6. It’s lovely!

  7. Love your shots, as always, Katie! Thanks for the good company and conversation yesterday.

    ~ Adrienne xo

  8. Nice work. I have quite a bit of trouble getting anything decent with plants.

  9. I love the softness too. The focused part is very detailed… a great blend of colors and angles! Beautifully done!

  10. Diaz, Jada reblogged this on JadaDiaz.

  11. It is a lovely image and I like reading how you approach your work. It’s great to hear someone else talking about composition and thinking through an image. The result speaks for itself!

  12. beautiful photograph

  13. Love this capture…. I’ve done this by accident! LOL Now, if I could just figure out how to do it on purpose… 🙂

  14. Loving this shot of nice depth of field 😀

Leave a Reply

 
