The Old West Lives On

Much of Santa Fe is “Santa Fe Style,” but the Old West lives here too. The thing I see so much of are cow skulls. They are pretty much everywhere and used as art. On Friday, I spotted this one on my walk back from downtown and took this photo.

I took this photo with my 35-70mm lens at an aperture of f/2.8. At this distance and with this lens, a f/2.8 gives pretty much enough sharpness/DOF/focus for me, except at more close up shooting. The f/2.8, gave it the soft feel at the bottom of the photo, as there was a plant in front of me that got blurred out by the larger aperture. To be honest, that was accidental, but I’ll take it (and use that trick in the future). 🙂

I liked this in black and white, as it gave it a more “old West” feel, and allows the photo to be pared down to the shapes in it (the skull, the stand, the plant, the shadow).

Image Copyright © Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on October 3, 2011.

19 Responses to “The Old West Lives On”

  1. fantastic photo. you got it very well and definitly there the f\2.8 was well put to use.

    The B&W… only by seeing the original colours i can say yes or no 🙂 but great job

  2. manonmona reblogged this on Espacio de MANON.

  3. I love it in B&W! Does make it seem more old world- instead of a “today” photo- I would expect lots of bright colors. Great how the lines, shadows and shapes, can take you all around the picture. Lovely- accidental or not.. I like the outcome

  4. I’m a Georgia O’Keeffe fan so I love this. So reminiscent of her work.

  5. very interesting subject Katie.. I am curious to know if this exhibit is private property or is it up for public display ?

  6. I like that you explain the settings. That is so out of me league right now but I am learning..I think I will like all of yours photos!

  7. Really like this, the contrast is great. I agree, in B&W this is really nice….would love that skull for my room though!

    • Thanks! Glad you like it in B&W! And hop you find a skull for your room! I liked this one too; it wasn’t as over the top as some are. 🙂 Thanks for your comment!

  8. I like it. Black and white was definitely the right choice for this shot.

  9. Love your photos, Katie!! So cool.

  10. Very Cool image!! You are in a fascinating place and capture it in a great light.

  11. I really enjoy black and white photography, there is something ‘honest’, ‘nostalgic’ about it, as you tend to see the composition, the subject more clearly, the eye isn’t distracted by the colors, textures, nuances that color photography layers over the subject. Really enjoyed this one.

    • I agree with what you wrote; black and white pares down a photo to the basics, without the distraction of color. I like my photos to be simple, so it adds to that also. That being said, I haven’t perfected my technique, and sometimes I feel color works too. 🙂 Thanks for your comment!

Leave a Reply

 
