Adobe Walls, Designer Clothing and the Wind

Early this year I took a walk around my neighborhood, and I ended up walking on Old Santa Fe Trail. I love this road, as it evokes the old Santa Fe Trail, but also because the first blocks of it are wonderfully old, and to me, it looks like real Santa Fe.

Santa Fe is a town built on independent business people, and Old Santa Fe Trail has many of these business in the old homes that line the street. One clothes designer, Homefrocks, often hangs some of her clothes out, so I decided to see if I could get an interesting shot.

The clothes in this photo mostly just hung there without life, but when a car would pass them, they would blow slightly. I waited for a big truck to come by and took the photo. This was taken with my 105mm macro lens at f/2.8.  The lighting is a bit more harsh than I’d like, but I still like the photo, as it has movement to it, and it has the adobe wall, which says Santa Fe.

Image Copyright © Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on October 4, 2011.

24 Responses to “Adobe Walls, Designer Clothing and the Wind”

  1. I love it!

  2. Nice… amazing eye for a great picture

  3. Katie – I love the motion you caught in the clothes and the earth tones that say Santa Fe.
    Best Regards
    Jim

  4. Very nice photo! The wind blowing the clothes around gives it life and depth. Great work!! Sorry I did not get around to responding in my blog tonight. Had to mow the lawn and do some other domestic stuff. Hopefully tomorrow I can get the time. Best wishes E…

  5. wow, very cool shot. I love the movement of the clothes. You captured them at the right moment. Oh and how I wish I had a macro f2.8 .

  6. Beautiful! I have a hard time figuring out how to show wind in photos, but I think this photo does it well!

  7. Looks like the clothes are dancing!

  8. great capture. I love the movement in the clothes.

  9. Cool shot, love the movement and warm tones….

  10. Dear Katie, you did great. I loved it so much, you are so creative with your camera, Thank you, with my love, nia

  11. Super photo…good thinking to wait for a truck to come by and add some life to the shot. Well done!

  12. Adds a new dimension to the phrase “Window Shopping”… love it!

Leave a Reply

 
