Cigarette, Anyone? :)

Okay, since I had some fun with the cigar butt this morning, I thought I’d share this photo with you. Can I call these types of photography, “street art?” Because they aren’t street photography, but they’re taken as I walk out and find something interesting on the street.

Anyhow, this photo was taken on a walk down an old alley about two weeks ago. Santa Fe has a good number of these, and I love them. They are alleys that were used when they built houses with the separate garages in back, so the alleys gave access to the garages. Here in Santa Fe, a number of these are no longer used and pretty much forgotten, and it’s like stepping back into time. It’s so much fun to travel these alleyways around town.

In this photo, I saw a pipe that had a wire cover, and the early morning sun was playing nicely on it. I thought how interesting, so I began to compose the shot in my viewfinder. As I did so, I saw that it looked like a cigarette, so I purposely composed it to try to capture that.

This photo was taken with the 35-70mm lens at f/2.8. I really like the shadow and light play in the photo and the textures of the wire and rock.

Image Copyright © Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on October 5, 2011.

4 Responses to “Cigarette, Anyone? :)”

  1. One day I left the house to pick up cigarettes and somebody stepped on my hand. 🙂

    Okay, enuff with the jokes. Is that one of the new electronic smokeless cigarettes in your photo??

  2. Oh, sorry, Bob! Nice that you were picking up cigarettes! 🙂 The photo is just a pipe that someone put mesh wire on, to stop something from coming out/going in. I think it was like 6 inches in diameter or something like that.

  3. I like your sense of humor!

  4. niice one 😀

Leave a Reply

 
