Okay Flower, Okay Background = Good Photo

You know, I really have to stop taking photos of flowers I meet on the street, as most of the time I really have no idea what they are, which doesn’t help when describing them. ๐Ÿ™‚

But here goes. This was a flower I ran into about a month ago on a walk. I was using the macro lens (105mm f/2.8).

I’m looking at this photo now, and my thought is, if it weren’t for theย backgroundย and the way I angled it in the lens, this would be a pretty boring photo. ย But as it is, I really like this photo. I love the play of the background which is lined and off-balance to the flower. And the darkness and simple nature of the background is in contrast to the light and complicated flowers. And the line of the flower makes it look like a chain.

Was Iย consciouslyย thinking any of that when I took the photo? I don’t know. I know I always consider carefully the background, as I feel the background is as important as the subject in a photo. And I compose my photos most carefully. ย But all of that? I doubt it.

Anyway, here’s the photo. Let me know if you think it’s an interesting take on the flower. Or if you know what type of flower it is, that would be helpful. ๐Ÿ™‚

Image Copyright ยฉ Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on October 6, 2011.

37 Responses to “Okay Flower, Okay Background = Good Photo”

  1. I like this photo because it creates a line. I think it makes the picture interesting.

  2. Ohh pretty

  3. I fall in love with random flowers on the street. When I was working as a home care field supervisor, I’d often stop on my daily rounds & take photos of the flowers in the gardens I’d pass. Of course, those flowers were often wilting, withering, and dying…but I didn’t care. Even in their death-beds, flowers (and people) are beautiful & worth loving.

    I don’t know what kind of flower you photographed, but I agree with your take on this shot– the swoosh of background really draws your attention to the delicate petals & makes this a lovely image. The color of the buds looks like life-energy building up in the soon-to-bloom petals… I can almost see them explode open.

    Peace, Love & Pomegranates

    • You give the most wonderful feedback! I agree, that even wilting flowers/people have a certain beauty to them that should be embraced. Thanks so much for your take on my photography. Always appreciated!

  4. I think it looks pretty neat. A nice slant on it. (pun intended) ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Beautiful Shot and great angle!

  6. What a pretty delicate looking flower..Nice!

  7. Love ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Sometimes the whole is greater than the sum of the parts. This photo is dynamic and pretty.

  9. Very pretty photo and flower. I’m going to guess that it’s a hibiscus variety, just a guess, though. Thanks for your comment on my blog… I will enjoy following yours.

  10. So true! Love the “leaf-picture”! ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. Your work is beautiful. What kind of camera do you use and what would you reccomend for an aspiring photographer – not professional just to make blog pictures more crisp? Thanks!
    Renee

    • I think any DSLR has the makings to help a person become a good photographer (I use Nikon, but Canon is also wonderful; I’ve seen stunning photography from the Nikon D3100, D5100 and the D7000, which are Nikon’s consumer DSLR’s–and I’m sorry but I don’t know much about other types of cameras). Some of the work I get my highest praise for was done years ago with a Nikon D70. which is ancient technology now. You don’t want to get anything that’s too complicated, and those Nikons I mentioned can do program modes and manual, so it gives you some space to grow. I still remember that Gargoyle shot of yours, and that shows me an interesting eye/vision, and that will help you (and I love photography like that! ๐Ÿ™‚ ).

      The reason the photos are more crisp is that I use Nikon f/2.8 lenses, and then just knowing how to use the lens and the camera. I have bought my lenses used (saves money), and they are older models now, but they work great. To me it’s the lenses that take photos like the photo in the post (along with my eye and my knowledge), as you can get the blurred background, and they are sharp with their focus. The lens used here was the Nikon 35-70mm f/2.8 lens, other of my closeups are done with my Nikon 105mm f/2.8 macro). Hope this helped a bit. I’ve found that I just get better by just shooting a lot of photos and just trying different angles too. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m self taught, and just love taking photos (been taking photos all my life). A beginning photography class at a community college or something like that, might help you get to know the basics of photography/your camera also, as it can be a bit confusing. Good luck with your photography! And still love that gargoyle shot! ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. Beautiful shot, the contrast between foreground and background bring out the clarity of the flowers brilliantly ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. nah, you don’t need to know all the names of the flowers to enjoy them, unless you’re a flower expert, lol. Just enjoy them for their beauty

  14. The flower looks like it might be globe mallow. It grows where I live in the high desert in AZ.

  15. Great use of the diagonal my eye follows it perfect!!

  16. I take photos of flowers all the time – but I never really like my flower photos but I like this one.

  17. Wonderful flower shot! This is so romantic for me,this flower reminds me spring blosssoms… I love your photographical works, Thank you dear Katie, with my love, nia

  18. I really like the different shades of the color of flowers and buds. I do love the line in the photograph, it’s very visually appealing. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

 
