Rain Can Change Everything

It rained a good part of Tuesday night in Santa Fe, which is so very unusual, but is so very appreciated, as this year has been marked by a severe drought. I love rain, and when it happens, it’s like a little shot of happiness enters my brain.

When I woke up on Wednesday morning, and it was still raining, I thought, “Rain drops!” As soon as the sun was starting to show itself, I went out with my macro lens. The flowers in my yard are starting to look very sad with the cooler weather, so I headed out to the street. There’s a red leafed tree near me, and as the sun was coming over the mountains, and I knew the effect on a photo would be beautiful.

With so many leaves on a tree, it’s a bit of a challenge to come up with a good composition for a macro photo. And then choosing the right aperture, so what you want is in focus, and what you don’t want isn’t, is another piece of the puzzle that I had to consider. This is one of the photos I came up with.

To most people. rain drops aren’t a reason for celebration, and a photo of them might not mean much. But to my eye, rain drops are unusual, and I wanted to capture their beauty and how they can change everything–a simple photo, adding in some rain, can become something more. I hope some of that comes through in this photo.

Captured with the Nikon 105mm macro lens at f/7.8.

Image Copyright © Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on October 6, 2011.

29 Responses to “Rain Can Change Everything”

  1. the best shots are this ones, excelent level of detail, and content just amazing 🙂 here we still have 30 degrees +\- so i’ll have to wait a while to get the chance to take this kind of photos.

    • Ah, thank you, Filipe! I just love when I go out with an idea for a photo, and I get a result that I wasn’t visioning at first, but that I really like. It’s still very warm where you are. Santa Fe, NM has truly started into the Fall season; time for sweaters and down comforters. 🙂 Enjoy your warmth!

  2. LOVE THIS. (:

  3. I love it…nature being…nature! I love the capture of the rain drops on the leaves- so seemingly random. Pure…. great shot!

  4. I adore the photo, the water on the leaf is just so perfect

  5. Refreshing. Love the depth. Thanks Katie!

  6. Lovely how the raindrop on the end of the large leaf looks like liquid amber.

  7. Lovely pictures, Katie. You have an awesome gallery. And I love the rain too 🙂

  8. We’re very dry in Atlanta too. I love this shot with the Macro lens.

  9. Aww rain! I hope we get some rain soon! 🙂 Nice picture by the way (:

  10. Great photo, and it tells me I have to start saving for a new lens. 😉

  11. wonderful rich tones! i always love to go out and take pictures after it rains, even though that means just taking even more of leaves around my house… there is still always a new way to capture them

  12. The droplets and the coloring of the leaves really make a gorgeous photograph! Great job!

  13. I love this pic 🙂

  14. Beautiful shot! I’m on the Olympic Peninsula right now, and you’ve inspired me to get out there and take photos of lots of rain-covered things! 🙂 Have a great day, and thanks for finding my blog. — Susie C.

    • Ah, thank you so much, Susie C! I know your area; it’s gorgeous. My dad’s family is up that way. You sure do have opportunities to do rain photos. 🙂 I wish I had more. And nice blog you have! 🙂

  15. I love raindrops on leaves, I can’t resist photographing them myself. Thanks for sharing this!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
