Revisiting a Photo Because Someone Liked It

A friend who sees all the personal photos that I take, mentioned this morning that she thought this shot was classic Katie, which got me thinking about my style. This shot wasn’t on my my list of my favorites, but my friend’s recommendation had me going to take another look.

I was taking a walk downtown, and beside the newer parking garage, there are four bungalow type houses, clearly built in the early 20th century and lovely in their simple nature.  I was told that the state government is using the buildings, but to be honest, they look a bit derelict. Which is something I love about them. (:  They still have touches that make them human, that lead back to the days when they were lived in as homes.

I walked by one the houses and saw this simple wood beam with the hooks on it, attached to the adobe wall. It puzzled me, as I still can’t figure out what it was used for. I liked it though, against the wall with the simple, unattended plant on the ground below. So I composed the shot as you see it.

Is it “classic Katie?” I don’t know really. I love simple things, and old things, and things that make me wonder. So maybe so. But hearing that she loved this shot, made me go back and take another look. It wasn’t what I hoped it would be, but I still like it for its simplicity. And I do think it reads Santa Fe too; the part I love most about the city, where the old and real slip in among what’s presented for the public image.  Hope you like it too.

Image Copyright © Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on October 6, 2011.

13 Responses to “Revisiting a Photo Because Someone Liked It”

  1. Now this is a “classic Katie shot”! Simple beauty caught with an artists eye! Your angle, lighting, subject and your “Katie’s touch” has come together here in this one shot. I hope people recognize your style as I have come to (or in their own interpretation special to them). It’s a great gift from you to me! Thanks so much Katie for sharing your gift with me always!

  2. Well… i must say that apart all of the other amazing photos…this is definitly the one that i like the most. If this is “classic Katie” … i like the style 🙂

  3. I’m wondering if they used it to tie up their horses ;)?

  4. I like this photo, too, Katie. It speaks of potential, perhaps lost or missed. The old wood & hooks, the neglected plants,…makes me think about the people, places, and things that get misplaced or left behind in our rush toward the Next Big Thing. Great post…keep them coming!

    Peace, Love & Pomegranates

    • Ah, what a wonderful write up of this photo. Thanks so much for your take on it. Very true. I can’t believe the houses are used by the government, but aren’t in great shape. Let me have one! 🙂 Oh, and I adore your signoff. 🙂

  5. Life’s mysteries are a treasured gift 🙂

    Lovely photo

  6. Such beautiful textures and light. Love it!

  7. I really like this, wonderful eye!!

Leave a Reply

 
