Early Morning Visitors

A good friend of mine mentioned my two cows photo, and I thought, “What are you talking about?” I was confused without my early morning caffeine. Then it hit me, the Aspen grove. My friend wanted me to share this photo, and because it’s always been a favorite of mine, I thought I would.

This photo was taken in July of 2006. I was camping with my dog, up in one of the national forests in Northern New Mexico. It was first thing in the morning, and when I unzipped the tent, this was the sight I saw. Luckily, my dog was trained well enough not to cause any alarm, so I got my camera out and took this shot.

This was taken with a Nikon 18-200mm lens, at f/5.7. Β I really like the feel of this photo. I love that the cow is staring straight at me, while the other cow munches on her breakfast. And it reminds me of wonderful times camping and exploring.

Image Copyright Β© Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on October 7, 2011.

25 Responses to “Early Morning Visitors”

  1. Magical πŸ˜‰

  2. Adorable!

  3. I love that shot. πŸ™‚

  4. Beautiful! So peaceful

  5. I miss my hometown more when i look at this photo,it reminds me the smell of the atmosphere in the morning.

  6. They are pretty cute. Thank you for sharing. πŸ™‚

  7. in sync with some of the comments above..it has a very soothing and earthly feeling to it !

  8. Really like the cropping and contrast of color. I had two early morning visitors today as well, one wolf & one hybrid. Unfortunately I could only get a photography of one. They seemed to sense the camera and would duck out of range. Nice photography. Yotaki

    • Thanks for your compliment. Wow, I’d love to see a wolf and a hybrid. Just a note–I don’t think I did much with color change/contrast or cropping of this photo. Could be wrong though, as it’s been over 5 years since i took the photo.

  9. Lovely shot! I grew up in the country where our closest neighbors were dairy farmers but we didn’t have much access to cultural activities of any sort. Then I moved to the big city, which was nice but I missed those cows. Now I’m in the best of both worlds — in Western MA where it’s easy to get culture but we still have plenty of agriculture (and a deep respect for cows, too!).

    • Glad you like the photo! So glad you’re back to having culture and cows near by! πŸ™‚ I lived back East and now I miss all the animals, birds, etc. Not missing the insect population though. πŸ™‚

  10. How looking to you, as if trying to understand what’s going on there… I loved it dear Katie, Thank you, with my love, nia

    • Yep, the cow is so cute and looking at me, like what’s going on. πŸ™‚ I love that my dog would not bark or anything at them.:) So glad you loved it, Nia! Take care!

  11. Love that!! Love the contrast of the cow’s beautiful rich brown color against the greens.

  12. Well framed!

  13. I really like this photo… your framing, the colours, the way the cows enter the picture infront of the tall trees… This is so good Katie!

Leave a Reply

 
