Shooting Bread for Its Texture

When I took my camera with me to the Farmer’s Market a couple of weeks ago, I took the normal shots of all the veggies and fresh produce. It was starting to get crowded, so it was time to move one.

I spotted some bread samples and asked if I could take some photos. The vendor looked at me like I was a bit crazy (which is pretty normal for Santa Fe πŸ™‚ ), and said that I could.

As I Β looked through my macro lens, I could see the great textures of the bread, the different shapes of the samples, and the muted color palate. I thought I had the makings for my type of photo.

And this is what I got. I really do like the textures of the breadΒ and how the samples fill up a lot of the vertical space of the photo, and that the focus is lower in the photo.

Image Copyright Β© Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on October 7, 2011.

20 Responses to “Shooting Bread for Its Texture”

  1. Proof that art and life in it can be found everywhere. And again your creative eye found a great shot!

  2. I really like this, amazing shot!! Photography is my passion.. cooking is my job πŸ™‚ I’ve been a cook for over 11 years so this speaks to me on both levels!! My best friend is a pastry chef and my fiance is a chef as well πŸ™‚

  3. You certainly have imagination, Katie. πŸ™‚

  4. I love the perspective and detail. And now I want to sample some!

  5. you made the bread look yummy and seriously interesting!

  6. I love food photography. I think you captured the texture quite nicely! πŸ™‚

  7. Wow, great shot. Love the detail.

    I’d like to be able to shoot these unique kind of macros one day.

    • Thank you so much, Victoria. I just love my Nikon 105mm macro lens. It just takes me into a different world when I look through it. And the results are so much fun! And just looking at your work, you’d have so much fun with it. You really have the eye for macro work. Thanks for your comment.

  8. This is amazing, to create such a nice artistic image of bread… You did great! Thank you dear Katie, (and made me hungry too, πŸ™‚ it is so impressive too), with my love, nia

  9. I so love looking at ‘every day’ objects close up, appreciating them in ways we typically don’t. πŸ™‚

  10. Love this! It looks so yummy!

Leave a Reply

 
