Simple Things Make Pretty Photos

Happy Saturday, everyone; I hope it’s a start to a nice weekend for you.

I took this photo last week. I was doing a shoot, and I spotted these dishes and I knew when I was done, i had to take a photo of them. I just loved the look of the dishes, and the way they were stacked was brilliant to my eye. (:

It was later in the afternoon, and the natural light was fading, so I put these bowls in front of the kitchen window and shot a few shots. I should have used my tripod, but I like the freedom of hand holding my camera, as I can work much more quickly and move around faster to compose photos. I did lean against the counter to steady myself though, as I was shooting at a shutter speed of 1/125, which is just a bit slow for my 105mm macro lens (on my camera, the lens becomes 157mm). I had the ISO speed at 400. I like to use lower ISO speeds, as it’s better for printing and noise levels, but again, with the lower light, I kept the speed at 400 and hoped I’d get a sharp photo where I wanted it to be.

This is the photo I liked best. In processing the raw photo, I desaturated the red color in the photo, as I should have moved whatever that red thing in the background was before shooting, but in the end, I like the slight hint of color back there. I really like the feel of this photo; to me it just evokes a feeling of good food in a wonderful atmosphere. I love the lines and curves of the bowls and the texture of the counter that fades into the background.

I shared this photo with my friend who sees all my work, and she immediately knew it would look great in her kitchen area, and she had the photo printed in a 12″ x 18″ size. She loves the result, and I couldn’t be more pleased, as I wasn’t sure with the hand holding of the camera at that slow shutter speed what the result would be. And I’m so happy that this photo will be seen in her home.

Image Copyright © Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on October 8, 2011.

38 Responses to “Simple Things Make Pretty Photos”

  1. Great photo. Many of us forget to try vertical shots, and you done well with this one. You used the perfect aperture to fade the background. Great imagination, too. 🙂

  2. I really do like this photo

  3. It printed beautifully Katie! Now the hard part is picking a frame that can stand up nicely with to this gorgeous shot!

    • So glad you love the print, Charleen! Good luck picking out the frame, and please let me know what you decide. Oh, and sometime, how about taking a photo of the framed piece on your wall, so I can see? 🙂 Thanks again for all of your support!

  4. Lovely, I want to learn how to shoot in raw.

    • I love shooting in raw. It means I have more control over the final image, and can do almost all my work on the photo in the processing of the raw image. It’s not hard, but it does take more time than shooting jpgs. Thanks for your comment, Helen. 🙂

  5. Thanks for sharing so much detail about your shot, what you choose, why you choose, and your thoughts on it all afterwards. I have replaced my film Contax with a DSLR and the learning process is slow. It was for me so much easier when I could look at my lens set my f-stop, and other settings; though I am hoping some day my digital menu will seem natural.

    • Thanks, Diana for your words of appreciation. So nice to hear! When i went digital, I went from a Nikon semi-high end film camera (the N80/F80) to the NIkon D70, and I remember being a bit confused also. I so hope that the shooting comes easier for you. I personally wouldn’t go back to film. I like to experiment with my shooting and it just would be cost prohibitive to go back to film, although film has some advantages to be sure. Good luck figuring out your camera. I know how much your love taking photos (I remember that wonderful post with you in the middle of the river :). Thanks so much for your comment.

  6. Lovely work – makes me want to know what will go into those bowls. 🙂

  7. You are the one who can make from a simple things to an artistic image. This is so beautiful. Thank you dear Katie, you inspire me too. With my love, nia

  8. Lovely shot and beautiful colours in the image. Not everyone is good at taking photos of simple subjects like these bowls successfully. It really shows off your creative vision and skill.

    I like taking vertical shots when I haven’t got my tripod, as I find my hand shakes less – haven’t figured out why.

    • Thank you so much for your wonderful comment about my vision and skill. It really makes me smile! Interesting about your hand not shaking when taking vertical shots. Something to find out. Maybe’s it why this was sharp too. Thanks again for your lovely comment!

  9. I like how you mention your camera settings and lighting conditions. It is very helpful and your resulting composition is beautiful. And shooting the simple things makes great vignettes. I have a post started called Shooting the Ordinary, and have been going all over finding everyday things to compose a shot so differently to see the ordinary as the extra ordinary. I would like to see a pro do this exercise sometime. Thanks for visiting my site too. I love shooting photos and love learning from those in the know.

    • Hi there, thanks so much for visiting my blog and your nice comment on my writing. It’s even helpful for me to write down what I do, as it reinforces what I was doing and how I did it, and how it became successful. 🙂 I love shooting ordinary things that catch my eye. I am a professional photographer, just to let you know. I specialize in architecture, but my love has always been what I can photograph just by watching and seeing what my eye sees. It’s why I love photography, and where my heart lies. I can’t wait to see the post you write “Shooting the Ordinary.” Feel free to leave a comment when you post it, so I’ll know. Thanks again for visiting my blog! 🙂

  10. Some great pics Katie, thanks for sharing them. I found you via Andrew Skelton’s blog.

    Best regards

    Mark

  11. indeed they do 🙂 Beautiful, simple and artful!

  12. 🙂 It looks great. Nice soft colours, and the slight tilt of the dishes makes it interesting and fun.

    • Thanks, Cin! It was that exact tilt of the dishes that convinced me I had to take a photo of them.I wonder if the home owner did that on purpose. 😉 Thanks for your comment!

  13. I enjoy your blog so much. This is somehow a really interesting photo! But, I love anything to do with eating. 🙂 You should check into http://www.istockphoto.com/
    You have such a talent.
    Cheers!

    • Than you so much, Zoe! Always nice to have you visit my blog. 🙂 Thanks so much for the link; I’ve never really thought my photography was good for stock, but I should look into it. Great idea! 🙂 And thanks again for you wonderful compliment. Take care, Zoe.

  14. Those are fantastic bowls… love the rustic look to them. They seem to be BEGGING for some nice ripe cherries! 🙂

  15. Gorgeous muted colours. Love the shallow depth of field and the consequent out-of-focus mulberry colour in the background.

  16. Love the depth of field, it would look great in our kitchen as well. Great shot.

  17. I love the simplicity of this. I wish I could take photos like that. Great eye!

  18. Ah, thank you, Cee!,You’re so sweet. 🙂 I love your gourd photo! 🙂

  19. Love!

  20. You’re right. Simple things. 🙂

    Great picture. (Following you now, 😀 )

Leave a Reply

 
