A Simple Pretty Flower for a Sunday – 3

Okay, so I’m on a roll here. Sundays are for simple flowers. 🙂  You can see the first post and the second post, if you’d like. Here’s one for today.

I took this photo earlier in the year. It was mid-winter and very cold out, but my lovely cyclamen plant was full of life.  I purposely positioned the photo with my yellow lawn chair outside the window, so that it would add a bit more color and visual interest to the photo, yet still be out of focus. This photo actually became my official “happy birthday” card for this year that I email friends.

This was taken with my 105mm macro lens at f/3.2. Natural light from the window.

Hope everyone has a great Sunday!

Image Copyright © Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on October 9, 2011.

40 Responses to “A Simple Pretty Flower for a Sunday – 3”

  1. Nice shot!

  2. Very nice! You captured the light and the flowers very nicely!! I love the redness of the flowers. It is soft and very vibrant and the same time!

  3. Love it!! Great shot!

  4. Nice 0ne 😀

  5. Nicely done. You have a great Sunday, too, Katie. 🙂

  6. Lovely shot. And who wouldn’t love to get this as a birthday card? Thanks for visiting my blog. I will definitely be back here. Your photography is gorgeous. And, I have a soft spot for macro pictures of flowers, so I have a new Sunday treat!

    • Ah, thank you so much! Glad you liked the photo and my blog! I sill love your swans photo! I adore macro shots of flowers too (I’ve been busing taking photos of Dahlias the last couple days), so I’ll be posting more! Thanks so much for your wonderful comment on my photography. I truly appreciate the support!

  7. Beautiful shot! I love that you thought of the yellow chair in the background – it makes this image more dramatic and interesting. Nice series of flower photos you have! 🙂

    • Thanks, Jenna! I did take a few exposures without the chair, and it was just boring. I’m so glad you noticed what a difference the yellow makes in the photo. Thanks so much for your comment!

  8. These are beautiful!! 🙂

  9. Beautiful!!

  10. Beautiful lighting and capture!!

  11. love the light and the detail, so simple but so powerful!

  12. How nice that you are able to use your own photos for greeting cards!

  13. Tis a simple flower, Katie, yet it’s beautiful. The simplest things in life sometimes are, aren’t they? I am suddenly feeling the Zen-like beauty of the simple.

  14. So pretty! Mine are coming out a their summer slump but not quite yet…

    • Thank you! The same cyclamen is starting to bloom again here. 🙂 Nice to know that it’s not unusual for the cyclamens to have a summer slump. Mine lost most of its leaves at one point, but now is looking nice and pretty again. So glad I stuck with it. 🙂 Thanks again for you comment!

  15. Lovely!

  16. They remind me of pinwheels. Wonderful shot, flowers are so beautiful each one so different.

  17. Fantastic shot!

  18. Nicely done Katie!

  19. WOW! You’re pics are always amazing! Simple, clean and down to the point!

  20. Beautiful picture. Such pretty flowers. Love the sunlight and the shadows. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
