Dancing Flowers – 4 – Photography as Abstract

With the wonderful response to my last dancing flowers post (see here, here and here for the first three photos/posts), I went out last week and tried doing some more of these movement photos of flowers. I got some rather wonderful results, and this one is my favorite.

What I truly love is the different levels of depth in this photo, and how it looks like there is movement in two different directions. I like the look of glass that’s there also and the way the photo goes from light to dark. I honestly don’t know how or why some of those things happened (I have suspicions though), but I’m going to see if I can replicate those attributes in future photos. (: As someone noted on my last dancing photos post, it looks more like a painting, which I enjoy.

This photo was taken with my Nikon 105mm macro at f/32 and at a shutter speed of 1/8. I turned the camera as I clicked the shutter release. As always, let me know what you think of this one. And again, I truly appreciate the feedback from all of you!

Image Copyright © Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on October 10, 2011.

15 Responses to “Dancing Flowers – 4 – Photography as Abstract”

  1. I love looking at all your pictures they bring a smile to my face and brighten my day!

  2. The light, color and movement all work so well together. It will be interesting to see if you can replicate this look in future photos.

  3. Beautiful. Great sense of motion here. Would never know they were flowers!

  4. To me it is another beautiful abstract. Gorgeous!!

  5. It’s hard to tell that these are flowers. Wonderful work 🙂

  6. Lovely image Katie. It inspires me to post some of my abstract flower images. And, like you, it’s a subject I enjoy for the wonderful surprises that come, as well as for the painterly feel these images have.

  7. Looks like fire…. like ‘elegant fire’, if there is such a thing… 🙂

  8. It really gives the dancing image, wonderful photograph. This is dancing of colours too 🙂 Thank you dear Katie, with my love, nia

Leave a Reply

 
