Well Loved Rag Doll Left Behind

I posted this photo in my collection of the abandoned house that I shot a few weeks back (see this post), but this was my favorite photo of all of those, and I wanted to showcase her by herself.

When I saw this rag doll on the floor of the living room in this abandoned house, I was filled with different thoughts. She appeared well loved, so why was she left behind? Why did the family leave in such a hurry? And why was she still there? The house had been visited many times before I went to it, and I had the urge to take her, but I didn’t, so others must have had the same thought.

My aim with a photo of this doll was to show her situation-just alone and left behind on the floor, surrounded by ashes and other debris, but still a doll that was loved well by some child. I have a code of not moving things in places like this, out of respect, so this is the way I found her.

This photo was shot with the Nikon 35-70 mm lens at f/2.8.

Image Copyright Β© Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on October 10, 2011.

27 Responses to “Well Loved Rag Doll Left Behind”

  1. An amazing photo

  2. This image has been taken beautifully. I can’t work out how it makes me feel, as you said the doll appears well loved but it just seems so alone….

    I can see why this would be your favourite

  3. Great, moving, photograph!

  4. What a great photo, love it!

  5. Great picture and post. πŸ™‚

  6. What a beautiful photo. The doll looks like it was loved, as you said, but somehow…the way you’ve photographed it…it looks rather sad. Quite a moving photo. Great shot. πŸ™‚

  7. u really show emotion in this pics, amazing feeling of abandoned, little sad.

  8. So pretty in a hauntingly beautiful fashion!

  9. Cool shot! I love the feeling this photo portrays. Kinda spooky!

  10. Yes, haunting is the right word for this shot. I felt incredibly sad when looking at it.
    Great photo!
    (Black and White depicts this emotion really well in this instance).

    • I agree, it is sad, being left alone in a abandoned house is sad. I may go visit her tomorrow, as I have a photo shoot out that. I’ll say hi for you! πŸ™‚ Thanks for your comment.

  11. Diaz, Jada reblogged this on JadaDiaz and commented: I love this photo

  12. A little eerie, creepy… scary movie-ish… but it’s a neat photo.

  13. The stories we could come up with…that is the power of photography in my mind. Wonderful story and capture!

  14. Great pic. Something very eerie about this abandoned doll or maybe I’ve just watched too many horror movies!

  15. Ah, so lovely and also so touching… Thank you dear Katie, with my love, nia

Leave a Reply

 
