Architectural Details are Cool :)

Okay, just to confuse you, we’ll get away from the macro, away from dolls, away from flowers, etc. etc. πŸ™‚

I’m an architectural photographer by trade, and although this blog isn’t about that photography, I still notice good architecture when I’m out and about with my camera. Β And when I see a detail that I like, I’ll take a photo. Santa Fe is filled with single story, pueblo style, flat roof homes, which I love, but I also adore meeting up with a pitched roof house or a contemporary.

For this photo, I really liked the more modern feelΒ of the light fixture and the numbers, but also the texture of the stucco and the lines and wood of the door. All of that together had me thinking that I could have a good shot, and this is what I ended up with. This was taken earlier this year with my Nikon 18-70mm lens at f/4.1.

Image Copyright Β© Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on October 12, 2011.

30 Responses to “Architectural Details are Cool :)”

  1. I love this photo, Katie. During the few years that we lived in Las Cruces I fell in love with southwestern adobe architecture. πŸ™‚

  2. Lovely! I really like how the different lines move you through the image, all angles with the numbers standing out because of separation in style and form. πŸ™‚

  3. Architecture details are cool….captured like this especially! Very simplistically beautiful. Again great eye Katie!

  4. like the colors here..and its a very uncomplicated composition

  5. This is just so Santa Fe~~ I love that city! Wonderful image, Katie. Thank you for posting this.

  6. Nice composition, and I like the textures too! Good shot!

  7. Completely agree! πŸ™‚

  8. Great shot ! It reminds me of a home my sister (who used to live in Pecos) took me to in Santa Fe. The stucco and the wood doors in arches were so cool. Gotta go dig them up!

    • Thanks, David! I love Pecos! So glad you like this shot. Next up is a post with a bunch of photos about Santa Fe, so here comes! Yep, do dig up photos and share them. πŸ™‚ Take care and thanks for the comment!

  9. I love the simplicity of this shot. You are so right abut the numbers. It’s an ace in my book!!!

  10. Cool picture. I like the lamp, and the simplicity of the place. πŸ™‚

  11. I like this, simple but interesting.

  12. Lovely soft colours and composition.

  13. I liked the crispness of the lines of the door with the softness of the lines of the stucco. I really like the lantern, against the color of the building.

  14. amazing photos! and architecture so different than where i come from..i would love to go to Sante Fe one day!!

  15. Nicely composed πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

 
