Sprinklers, Morning Sun, and My Neighbor’s Tree

One morning a couple of weeks ago, I had on my calendar to go down to the Farmer’s Market for photos, but having just walked my dog, and only a half cup of coffee for breakfast, plus the feeling that I wanted to try something different, I didn’t make it out of my house.

When I got up for another cup of coffee, I saw out my window that the early morning sun on my purple sage plant was looking really interesting, so I got my camera and went to shoot.

I stepped out the door and I stopped in my tracks. The sun was hitting the water from the sprinkler in a beautiful way. I forgot the sage plant and starting taking photos of the water as it arched and caught the light of the sun. I was enthralled by it.

The sun was the key to this photo. At first I was just shooting for where the sun was hitting the water, but then I decided to work with the composition of the background. I was using different shutter speeds, so I could either shorten the streaks of rain or elongate it in some way. In the background, you see the fence between my yard and my neighbor’s and the tree in her yard. ย I really liked this shot, and I was glad I hadn’t gone to the Farmer’s Market, as I would have missed it. These sets of shots were the only shots for myself that I took that day, and as the rest of the day wasn’t very good, these photos really made it much better. Funny, how photography does that for me. ๐Ÿ™‚

This was shot with my 35-70mm lens at F/2.8 and a shutter speed of 1/200.

Image Copyright ยฉ Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on October 12, 2011.

18 Responses to “Sprinklers, Morning Sun, and My Neighbor’s Tree”

  1. Great skill and execution. Very beautiful!

  2. Very nice, in an abstract way. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. we are so alike, if I wake up early in the morning and having a long walk with my dog, it seems like the day should be over because I am so tired, lol

  4. I like this shot- makes you wonder which way the drops are coming or going…

  5. I love this story… the picture is great too. I get the same feeling, when I get a shot, sometimes an unexpected shot, it can be so fulfilling, gives me a very warm and happy feeling, that it just makes my day. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for sharing this!

    • Yes, isn’t it wonderful when something comes out unexpectedly. ๐Ÿ™‚ You know what you’re trying for, but when you’re playing with shutter speeds, and experimenting, etc., you just never know. ๐Ÿ™‚ So glad you like the write up and the photo. And thanks as always for your comments. ๐Ÿ™‚ Truly appreciate them.

  6. A beautiful abstract of light!

  7. Very cool! I love all the different colors and how the water forms distinct lines in the air ๐Ÿ˜€

  8. Nice! ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Interesting photo and nice lines. How did you do to not getting any reflections of you when you took it straight on? Nice photo!

    • I actually didn’t take this straight on. I was standing to the left a bit, so I wouldn’t have my lens directly pointed at the sun (I did take other photos with the lens pointed at the sun, and they came out pretty washed out, which one friend absolutely loved, but I like this effect better). Thanks for your comment!

Leave a Reply

 
