A Taste of Santa Fe, New Mexico

I’m sure some folks might doubt that I live in Santa Fe, as you really haven’t seen much that screams Santa Fe on this blog. Most of my work is on a smaller scale. I’ve lived in Santa Fe for going on nine years now, and when I see the same things every day, it’s kind of hard to get excited about shooting them. That being said, I know that Santa Fe is a special place, and there is some wonderful architecture, and a unique feel to downtown and the older parts of Santa Fe. And there is much to love about this place.

So today I thought I’d share some of my photos of Santa Fe. I’ll put in posts like this every once in a while, so I can show off some more parts of the city. I’ve also started a photo gallery for Santa Fe, where I’ll put appropriate images.

If you’ve been to Santa Fe, you should see some things you recognize, and I hope everyone enjoys a trip to this part of the world. (:

Images Copyright Ā© Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


~ by KatiesCameraBlog on October 13, 2011.

24 Responses to “A Taste of Santa Fe, New Mexico”

  1. Wow, nice, you definitly have amazing places there… keep coming those photos šŸ™‚

  2. Thanks, Filipe! You’d like the old feeling here, I’m sure. šŸ™‚ Glad you liked the photos.

  3. I don’t know why anyone would doubt you when you say that you live in Santa Fe. Anyway, I believe you, and I love your photos. šŸ™‚

  4. Amazing pictures. Really gave me a feel of being there. šŸ™‚

  5. Love the slide show! Santa Fe is such a great, visual town. šŸ™‚

  6. Great shots of The City Different, Katie!

  7. Great photo collage! Do they still celebrate Zozobra??

  8. These are beautiful! I feel like I was there with you.

  9. Beautiful work on this!

  10. Love the architecture. Nice to see your side of the world.

  11. I seem to remember ‘The Santa Fe Trail’, from way back in my youth. I guess it must have been a cowboy movie, however the name has stuck in my brain for more than 50 years!

    • Ah yes, Mark “Santa Fe Trail!” šŸ™‚ There is a movie called that I believe, and it’s very historical (it was a primary route for those folks moving West back in the 19th century). I live down the street from what is now called “Old Santa Fe Trail.” I love the early blocks of that road, as it follows the last steps of the Santa Fe Trail into Santa Fe. You can even see the old wagon ruts along the road in some places. Fantastic! šŸ™‚ Thanks for your comment and thanks for visiting my blog!

  12. Wow sounds quite fantastic, what with the old wagon wheel ruts etc!

    I well remember on my way back from Vegas in 1970, we had finished playing the Riviera and I decided to travel with the road crew in the truck to LA. It was fascinating, and on the way we stopped off at the old ghost town of Calico, an old mining town. Looking on the web it now appears to be quite an attraction, but back then it was just a totally deserted old town. I have it on super 8mm and intend digitising one day. But there is always something else that needs doing AND I’m supposed to be RETIRED!!

    Keep up the good work, I love your posts.

    Cheers

    • I’d love to see real ghost towns (not ones that are tourist attractions). That would be just so wonderful and taking photos–heaven! šŸ™‚ Hope you do digitize that Super 8 some day! I’d love to see it. Thanks for your wonderful comment on my photos and my posts. I truly appreciate it!

  13. Katie, love these Santa Fe details that you have captured – it’s a spot that’s definitely on my must see list when we return back to the United States! (For now, we are off to Asia for four months.)

    I’m so glad that you stumbled upon my travelogue/photography blog so that I could in turn discover yours! Looking forward to seeing more of your work, as I will be bookmarking yours…

    • Thank you so much, Tricia! I was happy to discover your blog too. How wonderful to travel the way you do. Hope you have lots of fun and continue to share your adventures and photos. Thanks again for your visit to my blog and your wonderful comment. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

 
