Photography as a Calming Agent

Sometimes, it’s hard to figure out what photo to post next. I have quite a few that I want to show you, but somehow it has to just feel right at the time. After Bob Zeller (his blog is here) and David Heilman (his blog is here) mentioned liking adobe architecture on a post yesterday, I decided to post some images of Santa Fe this morning.

As I was looking at photos to post this afternoon, I ran across this one, and it gave me a sense of calm that was just what I needed, so it’s become my afternoon image.

I took this photo in September at my friends’ house in Tesuque, New Mexico. I just love those grasses in this photo, and you’ve seen them before on this blog. I like the graceful, soft feel of them, and the curve of their stem is just wonderful to photograph. I was using my 35-70mm lens and the aperture was set at f/4.5.  Hope this photo gives you a sense of something too. (:

Image Copyright © Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on October 13, 2011.

29 Responses to “Photography as a Calming Agent”

  1. I love these colors… what was the pinkish purplish plant in the background? That made a wonderful contrast.

  2. This is beautiful Katie. Good use of shallow depth of field and lovely colours in the background.

  3. Lovely, sudued image Katie! I like how the curves of the grass are accented by the angled light in the background. Beautiful 🙂

  4. Love this grass head image, particularly the colours. This grass happens to be my favourite & I have photographed it many times here in Melbourne. Does anyone know what it is called?

    • I’ve asked my friend and she’s going to ask her husband and get back to me, So I’ll let you know when i find out. Glad we both have a great eye for these grasses! Thanks for commenting, Victoria!

    • Hi Victoria, my friend responded (her husband is the artist that has designed their landscaping), and she says the grass is “Purple Fountain Grass” (rubrum), Pennisetum setaceum. It can be perennial in warmer climates. Hope that helps. 🙂

  5. The grass is beautiful, but I especially love the colors in the background.

  6. Grasses are so hard to capture. Your f-stop allowed you to capture just the right depth of field. You have inspired me to go out there and shoot some grasses.

    • Grasses can be hard to capture, especially if it’s windy (and it was when I took this). I just kept shooting multiple frames and hoping that between my camera skills and the wind, we’d get my shot. I was pleased when I saw this one. Can’t wait to see what photos you come up with! 🙂

  7. Nicely done! There’s something serene and refreshing about grasses in photos. Whether it’s the green grass of a manicured lawn, the golden prairie grass in the late summer, or any number of wild grasses growing around the world, we seem to relate them with calm and peace. Cheers!

  8. Your photo makes me want to walk outside and just sit down in a quiet place to breathe, to smell, to hear, to feel. I love it.

    • Thanks, Marion. That’s exactly the feeling I like from the photo also. Makes me just want to breath deeply and clear my mind. Glad you felt the same way and thanks so much for your comment!

  9. This is exactly as its title giving a wonderful calm touches… I loved it so much. You did a great shot. Thank you dear Katie, Have a nice weekend, with my love, nia

  10. lovely!

  11. NIcely done Katie, this is a very calming image. I love to photograph grasses also. It’s difficult because of depth of field and focus issues. Which one should I focus on?? This one…no that one…no all of them…

    • You’re right, David. Grasses are a bit of a challenge, and figuring out what to focus on, and then if I’m using autofocus, and there’s the wind (and using single point autofocus), it’s even more difficult. 🙂 Glad you can appreciate the work it takes.

  12. Oh so calm, oh so serene!

  13. I love those soft feathery leaves/stalks. 🙂

    Also,thanks for the shout-out. I appreciateit. 🙂

  14. Serene and peaceful. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
