Leaves in a Mirror Image

I haven’t been able to shoot much in the last few days–unfortunately paying work. 😉 But when I’m out, I’m primarily focusing on doing more abstract work, and I’m not exactly sure on the results just yet, so I’m not showing those as of now.

In between those abstracts, I’m still noticing some interesting things. Yesterday i took this photo. I was just trying to capture a pretty leaf with some out of focus leaves in the background. I was using different apertures to get different depth of field in the photo. You might think that in this photo, the background leaf is really out of focus, but this was shot at F/8 (with my 105mm macro lens), and at the more wide open apertures (lower numbers) the background was much more blurred (to the point where you couldn’t tell there were other leaves).

Anyhow, I picked this photo, as it looked like the background leaf was a reflection of the foreground leaf, where they touch at the bottom. They aren’t. And I just think that is so cool.  (:

Shot with my Nikon 105mm macro lens at f/8.

Image Copyright © Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on October 14, 2011.

31 Responses to “Leaves in a Mirror Image”

  1. The light shining through the foreground leaf is gorgeous. Great Fall Photo.

  2. Lovely composition and, as you say, cool the way the tips of the leaves are touching. And great to hear you’re experimenting with abstract images!

  3. What a cool shot! Luv your posts! Cheers!

  4. Another well done image. The light, background, and color are perfect together.

  5. Great job capturing a reflection without using something that would act like a mirror.

  6. Oh this is beautiful. What a pleasant surprise!

  7. An excellent shot, Katie. The mottled light on the teaf really adds to it. 🙂

  8. I really like the specific leaf that is in focus, the little blemish at the top left and the green to red give it so much character.

  9. I really like this one and the wheat (or tall grass).

  10. Perfect depth of field.

  11. Such a beautifully composed photo – love it.

  12. Beautiful fall photo!

  13. OMG, I love this one. And the title too. 🙂

  14. Love the detailing of the veins. Nature’s little abstract painting!

  15. […] about two weeks ago. The subject was the same autumn leaves that I posted a still image of earlier (you can view the post here). Can you see the connection between the two […]

  16. Brilliant idea! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
