Photography as Abstract – Wood Column

I mentioned in my last post that I’ve been working with abstracts–that is moving the camera as I press the shutter release, so that the image captured is more abstract. I’d rather have the images come straight from the camera than doing the abstraction in post processing, as it’s more organic for me, so I’ve been really working with different ways of  achieving this technique.

Mufidah Kassalias (her blog here) mentioned that she’d like to see some of this abstract work, as she has been doing similar creative photography, so I thought I’d go ahead and share one of the images I captured.

I took this photo yesterday. There was a wonderful wood column I passed, and I took regular shots (which I really like too), but then I thought that how the column was carved in a circular way, that it would make an interesting abstract.

As the carving of the column slanted downward, I decided in this photo to move my camera from left to right, so that there would seem to be movement in two directions. The shadow would move from left to right also. I liked how the hardness of the wood column became soft and fluid in this image, and like the grasses image yesterday, this photo gives me a sense of calm. My brain must be needing that. (:

I’ve started a photo gallery of abstract images (in the menu on the right), where I’ll put my abstract images. This photo was shot with my 35-70mm f/2.8 lens, at an aperture of f/22 and a shutter speed of 1/25.

Image Copyright © Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on October 14, 2011.

23 Responses to “Photography as Abstract – Wood Column”

  1. Very nice, also have you tried turning the zoom grip the same time as you click the shutter? That can be fun, especially at night on a tripod with car lights etc, and camera set to manual.

    • I did the zoom movement some, but hadn’t tried it for a long time until I did it on some aspen tree trunks yesterday. It was pretty cool, but what I was working with was more unusual type movement. Night lights would be cool with the zoom movement. Even if not cars, but any lit building or something. You’ve just given me some ideas, Mark. Thanks!

  2. Very cool Katie! Another technique that works (only sometimes) is to hand hold a shot standing up at slow shutter speeds like 1/30 or slower. If you get lucky you will get painterly effect.

  3. Woohoo! I really like this Katie 🙂 The simplicity of shape and colour, the sepia monochrome effect of the pale, warmth of the wood on a black background. The amazing thing about this kind of photography is that it infuses images with life. Happy that you posted this and look forward to more abstraction!

    And thank you for including a link to my blog.

    • So glad you like this, Mufidah! 🙂 You saw it the way I did! I love using the sun to create the dark backgrounds. 🙂 And you’re more than welcome for the link to your blog. 🙂

  4. I had fun doing that one night. I lit a bunch of candles, then set it on a slow shutter and waved it around in shapes. Got some neat stuff. Maybe I’ll post it sometime.

    I have thought about doing abstract, but its kinda scary in a way. lol. Its so… different and I always worry it will just look like nothing. Kudos to you for giving it a try, its a neat image

    • Ah, please do post your wavy candle photos. I bet it looks so cool in the dark of night like that. Abstract is a bit scary in a way. At first I was just trying anything and hoping for a result. I’m getting better at it, so it’s no just shooting blindly anymore. But still, it’s harder, as you really have to look at each photo and see if there’s something there, and my eye doesn’t naturally visualize in an abstract way. But I really love some of the results I’m getting, and it’s so fun experimenting. 🙂 Thanks for your comment, Cin! 🙂

      • Yea, I almost think they are more work then regular shots! But they are also fun to play around.

        🙂 can’t wait to see more

      • Yeah, it is fun and I enjoy doing it. You will see more of them. 🙂 Take care and have a great weekend, Cin. And thanks so much for your encouragement!

  5. Lovely. I like the way your experiment came out. This is the kind of image I’d stare at for hours – and just might.

  6. Great idea 🙂
    But I don’t know if it would be right to move the camera in any way. I mean, is there any particular way to do that?

    Anyways, loved this one too. 🙂

  7. a wonderful image Katie..it looks like a shifting dune to me.

    the camera move definitely adds a bit of dynamism( and possibly abstraction) but that aside, I think the subject can very well stand on its own – the form, shapes and light and shadow.

  8. WOW – just wonderful – It is vibrating. Love the repetition of the shape too.

    ~ I also like the ‘fairy’ photo from the next post.

    I like it when you push the camera and see special elements.

  9. Wonderful abstract. The light formations look so organic (like leaves) and the tones are nice and soft, but yet, take on a metallic quality. Very interesting image!

  10. […] I’ve featured another photo of this, so if you’d like to know what it is and see a different abstract of the same subject, just click here. […]

  11. My first thought was this is a leaf or feathers…Unfortunately I was totally wrong! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
