Old Adobe Walls, Gates and Sunflowers

Saturdays are a bit hard. Sundays have become days to post a flower photo (I think I have a store of flower photos to last many millennia of Sundays πŸ˜‰ ), but what to post on Saturdays? Today, this photo appeals to me.

This is classic Santa Fe. Most homes in the old parts of town, have adobe/stucco walls around them and pretty gates. Santa Fe is known for its gorgeous doors and gates. We also have these wild sunflowers that grow here too. This photo contains both of those elements, and I just really like that.

I took this photo in late September about a block from my home. I used my 105mm macro lens, and I focused on the facing flower, using an aperture of Β f/2.8. Β It was a strange (for Santa Fe) overcast day here, so the light is really soft, which I enjoy when it happens. So today, all that makes for a Saturday photo. Have a great day! (:

Image Copyright Β© Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on October 15, 2011.

37 Responses to “Old Adobe Walls, Gates and Sunflowers”

  1. Pretty photo! I also have a millennia of flower photos in storage πŸ˜›

  2. Nice photo, and perfect timing for us. We’re traveling around the U.S. fulltime and just now arrived in Santa Fe. We love the adobe architecture. So different from everywhere else we’ve been the last 18 months.

    • Ah, have fun in Santa Fe! There is some really cool architecture here. πŸ™‚ In my mind, the secrets of the old parts of the town are the most fun. Enjoy your time in my town! πŸ™‚

  3. I really like this photo, Katie. I love the sharp focus on the flower, with the classic stucco wall blurred in the background. πŸ™‚

  4. I love this – the yellow is stunning with the shallow depth.

  5. Nice photo/photos! Re: d7000, I’m leaning that way, but I’m going to hold out for another couple of months, see which way the wind blows..

  6. I loved this… as I scrolled down the page I couldn’t imagine what was going to be in the picture and then that bright, crisp flower appeared…. Just Beautiful!

  7. Fantastic photo with a great bokeh.

  8. A beautiful image and wonderful depth of field!

  9. Remarkable πŸ™‚

  10. Very pretty! I love sunflowers.

  11. Nice sharpness on the flowers

  12. How pretty…it looks like sunflower in mini size

  13. So neat and pretty πŸ™‚

    • Thank you so much for all your comments, Nandini! πŸ™‚

      • You post daily, right. And sometimes I don’t log in for the entire day or days. And when I do, I find a long list of your beautiful posts. So can’t resist commenting. πŸ˜€

      • I do try to post daily. πŸ™‚ It gets me to take more photos, which hopefully will help me with developing my creative eye. All the support from people like you, really helps. I really appreciate that you like my work, Nandini. πŸ™‚ I like to visit your blog too, so when you comment on one of my photo, I get a great treat by going back your way. It’s wonderful to see your part of the world. πŸ™‚

  14. Posting daily is great thing. Even I try to do that. But sometimes, I just can’t.

    Thanks for your kind and lovely words. Even I lokk forward to see your feedback on my clicks. They really help me too. πŸ™‚

    Thank you Katie. πŸ™‚

  15. What a striking composition! I love the softness of the background, as well as the sharp focus on the flower. Great shot! πŸ™‚

  16. Yup, this is Santa Fe! Nicely done Katie.

  17. Aw, sweet shot. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

 
