A Simple Pretty Flower for a Sunday – 4

Another flower photo for an easy-going Sunday. I hope you’re having a wonderful weekend.

This photo was taken about a week ago at the Farmer’s Market. I was just taken aback by the fresh Dahlias everywhere, so I was shooting them. The flowers were so big that I could focus on the petals, and I just loved the shape of them.

This was taken with my 105mm macro lens at an aperture of f/3.3 and I focused on the closest petals to the lens.

Enjoy your day!

Image Copyright © Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on October 16, 2011.

53 Responses to “A Simple Pretty Flower for a Sunday – 4”

  1. Wow! 🙂

  2. Beautiful.

  3. Always love the sundays with your flower macros 🙂

    Soon i will be equiped too to make this kind of photo 😀

  4. ooooh, very nice, Katie

  5. Terrific shot! Nice depth of field with the low aperture; love the softness in the background colours!

    • Thanks, Steve! The DOF kind of surprised me with this macro, but being that the flower was so large, I didn’t have to get really close, so that gave good up front DOF, and then the softness in the background. Good lens! 🙂

  6. Wow – most amazing image!! I love the colors and use of depth of field

  7. Just beautiful!! Love the way the petals in the foreground are in focus and the center and petals in the background aren’t. What an interesting picture.

  8. Good lens, yes, but more importantly — good eye! So much beauty around us is unappreciated unless a photographer says, “Look at this!” 🙂

  9. Lovely image–hope that you’ll view–at Lensandpensbysally–my shoot at Longwood Gardens this week. I enjoy seeing your postings. Lucky you to be able to meander around Santa Fe. The southwest is raw (excuse the pun) for images. Thanks again for your vision of the area, Sally

  10. Very nice, I love the colour of the flower.

  11. I love the way the background blends together.

  12. WOW.

  13. Beautiful. The center almost looks like it’s on fire.

  14. Simly amazing!

  15. Simple, yet very effective – great image.

  16. lovely dof.

  17. Gorgeous!!!

  18. Love your choice of depth of field in this photo! Beautiful 😀

  19. So beautiful… the flowers, the colours and yes, how you looked at her, created a great composition. Thank you dear Katie, with my love, nia

  20. WOW!!! I wish I can shot a flower like that

  21. Lovely! 🙂

  22. Gorgeous!

  23. That is so sharp…..Beautiful

  24. Nice photo! The center looks like a sun burst.

  25. beautiful!!

  26. This is so beautiful!! Amazing work Katie!!

  27. I really like this one.

Leave a Reply

 
