Just Another Leaf Photo — That I Love :)

Here’s a leaf photo I took about two weeks ago. It’s from that Sycamore relative tree, the London Plane Tree. I love these trees with their peeling bark, big leaves and wonderful structure, so when I saw one downtown, I decided to take some photos.

This was the leaf composition I liked best. It shows the structure of the leaf in all its glorious form. There are three main leaves, which I like, along with good out of focus leaves in the background, which I think gives it a more environmental portrait feel — a leaf in its natural habitat. I would have wished that the branch weren’t there, but I wasn’t about to cut it off (or use Photoshop), so it stays. (;

The only real change I made to this photo was changing the white balance when processing the raw image. The leaves were green, and I changed the color to have a more yellow tone. I’ve never seen a Sycamore/London Plane Tree turn this color yellow, but I just really liked this hue in the photo.

Shot with my 35-70mm lens at f/2.8.

Image Copyright Β© Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on October 18, 2011.

46 Responses to “Just Another Leaf Photo — That I Love :)”

  1. Beautiful. I especially like the way the sun shines through. A message from above!

  2. I really like the way some leaves are back-lit, and the lower one isn’t. I didn’t notice that right away. But to show the little veins of the leaves, you had the perfect exposure. I also like the way you adjusted the color of the leaves. Such a nice soft hue. I can see why you may think the stem is a distraction, but there is nothing you could have done about it, and personally it doesn’t bother me at all.

    You certainly have a great eye for spotting opportunities like these. But it all comes from whatever a person’s focus is on. I never noticed that birds were so different colored until I really started to look at them.

    • Thanks for noticing all that, Bob. Truly! I love when someone notices so much about a photo. And I adore these leaves and trees. πŸ™‚ I agree, photography does make you notice things you never would otherwise. I think that’s the gift I like most about photography. You get to really see things. Thanks so much for your comment!

  3. This is very pretty. Also, I have to say I appreciate the way you explain any manipulation you do to the image, since the whole process is interesting.

  4. I love these leaves too. A type of maple, right?

    Beautiful picture. πŸ™‚

    • Hi Nandini, these trees are part of the acer (maple) family. πŸ™‚ I love maples. Wish we had more of those gorgeous red leaves around here. πŸ™‚ Glad you liked the photo! πŸ™‚

  5. Nicely done! Thanks for visiting my blog earlier today…it was getting lonely!!

  6. I love it too. πŸ˜‰
    I have a fondness for trees.

  7. Beautiful! I love how autumn paints leaves in different colours! πŸ™‚

    • Me too! I wish here in Santa Fe, we’d get more than just yellow though. Most trees are yellow (aspens, cottonwoods), but a few people have planted maples,e etc., which is so nice to see. πŸ™‚

  8. Stunning shot!! Love it!

  9. OK, I am joinging the others. I love that leaf photo, too! Just think how many photos of leaves we could take in the autumn and continue to find amazing shots?

  10. There is no such thing as “Just another Leaf Photo” because leaves are beautiful and unique.

    Great colors again and I really enjoy following your blog, your photographs are so much fun to see and enjoy.

    Thank you for sharing!

    • Ah, thanks for the nice compliment on my photos! I love hearing how much fun they are. πŸ™‚ I was in a gallery today and they had such fun paintings , and I was thinking, I want to do that. πŸ™‚ Thanks again for your wonderful comment!

  11. Just beautiful!

  12. Amazing shot. Glad I stopped by your blog. Following you now.

  13. Wow…that’s a beautiful shot. Love the color.it looks like Kroten’s shell when she was younger

  14. Oh I love it too. Nice crisp lighting. Beauty!

  15. This photo is beautiful, amazing, a excellent frame…excellent colours!!!

  16. I just love pictures of leaves.

  17. Katie, how very pretty!!

  18. Wow. Great capture. Love it.

  19. I love maple leaves! You are very talented Katie!

  20. Oh, I love it too!!! So beautiful.

  21. So simple, but so impactful. A really great picture. I just love the way you have managed to capture such detail in the shot.

  22. Such lovely photos and what an eye you have for color and objects of interest. Thank you for sharing.

  23. I think I like this as much as you liked my train photo’s. I would never call this just another leaf photo…. Beautiful!!!!

Leave a Reply

 
