Sometimes the Stars Align

I do a lot of experimenting with my photography, and I’m out a lot when the sun is just too bright for any sensible photographer to be outside, so when I take a photo, I don’t always know if I’ll like what comes out.

But then sometimes when I take a photo, I just know I’m going to love it. It just looks so right to my eye, and the sun is just doing what I love it to do. And the background is just perfect for what I want it to be. And the subject matter has lines and shapes and texture.

That happened yesterday. I was out taking photos, met a couple of artists which was fun, talked to a neighbor, but all in all, I just wasn’t getting the photos I wanted to. I should have been out earlier in the day. But then about two blocks before I arrived back home, I came to a scene that just grabbed my eye. There was a strawberry pot sitting on the edge of a brick bungalow porch. I composed the shot, and as I looked through the viewfinder, there was no doubt in my mind that this was going to be the shot of the day; I even said that aloud to myself. (: Nothing abstract, no great creativity, but just my eye picking this small scene amongst a zillion that I had seen that day.

I liked the way the sun was hitting the delicate branches in the pot. The brick was giving the photo shape and texture, which balanced the roundness of the pot. The 90 degree angle of the porch and wall was wonderful and would ground the photo, and the fall colors in the background would help pick up the red in the brick and the pot and be nicely out of focus, but still read “autumn” and “nature.”  All this was going through my mind, and I was hoping I’d be right.

I got home and was processing my photos, and yes, nothing excited me until I saw this photo, and I was just so pleased.

Shot with my 105mm macro at f/2.8. This is directly from the camera with no adjustments at all.  All it takes in a day is to get one photo that you just really like. I want to live on that porch. (:

Image Copyright © Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on October 18, 2011.

32 Responses to “Sometimes the Stars Align”

  1. excelent one 🙂 indeed a day that you take the photo that you want and like the final result is a good day, and it’s not easy to get a good day every day.

  2. Wonderful shot! The colours and textures are great! Nice eye for composition! Cheers!

  3. Very nice and pleasing 🙂
    Enjoyed reading the description.

  4. So smooth 😀 Love it 🙂

  5. I agree that it just takes one image to excite one’s sensibilities. This one is just right. I also am going out of the boundaries of my comfort, and shooting in ways never done in the past. One truism is that I can take 100 photographs and maybe like 2. Very nice photo Katie. The abstract colors give a lovely backlight to the main subject, giving both a day in the sun, Sally

    • I agree, Sally, when shooting to experiment, to learn, etc., you get a lot of photos that you’re not going to like, but then as you continue to work on, you start to know what is really going to work, but still it’s great to push yourself also. Those failed photos teach me so much.:) Thanks for your comment!

  6. Its a good one 🙂 I like the browns against the green background. 🙂 I also like the verticalness of it, as it makes it look really tall.

  7. You are so right, Katie. You never know when the right opportunity will present itself. This image is indeed a keeper. I love your composition, and blurred background is perfect. Incidentall, I keep my camera at my side all of the time, except my wife doesn’t want me to take it to bed with me. 🙂

  8. Perfect colors!

  9. You have a wonderful eye of photography, this is so beautiful, and so artistic. Well done dear Katie, with my love, nia

  10. The finished product was certainly worth the effort. I always love the dappling effect of tree shadows

  11. “All it takes in a day is to get one photo that you just really like…” Yeah, it’s almost as good as a kiss from a loved one. No matter how uneventful a day, either that one kiss or that one photo can lift my spirits!

  12. Brilliant shot, beautifully photographed.

    Right spot, right time and just the right stream of sunlight

  13. Exciting photograph. I love the intensity of color and texture. Yotaki

  14. This is definitely a keeper!! The composition is perfect and the colors and textures all compliment each other. Superb!!! Another aspect I like its that it is “right out of the can” so to speak.

  15. Love the colors, so earthy and autumny… 🙂

  16. Going through your pictures & write-ups I could nothelp but agree that autum really brings out amazing colors. Correct me if I am wrong but it’s the late afternoon autumn sun which gives this picture such a serene and at the same time warm feel. Sadly, Karachi doesn’t have such change of seasons and we just have to work with summer or slight winters and miss out on the autumn colors. Otherwise it would have been another treat like rain.

    • Autumn does bring out great colors. 🙂 This was shot at about 3;30 pm though, so the sun would have been much more harsh without the tree cover to dapple the light. I honestly was surprised that the shot came out looking so much like late afternoon, as you see it, and as I do too. :Sorry Karachi doesn’t get the nice four season weather, but you do wonderful things with your rain photos. 🙂 Thanks for your comment, Taimoor.

Leave a Reply

 
