Back to an Earlier Time

On a walk last week, I stopped in to visit The Historic Santa Fe Foundation, which has its office at a wonderful old property,Β El Zaguan, on Canyon Road among all the art galleries. The people there are really nice and helpful, and I love stopping in to chat about all things historical.

The property has a wonderful porch/portal to sit on, and you can look out among the gardens. While I was there, I noticed an old bike leaning against the porch railing. I’m not sure if it belongs to one of the artists in residence or not, but I decided to see if I could take an interesting photo, and this is what i got.

I enjoy the atmosphere of this photo, one of an earlier and simpler time. I like that the circle of the tire counteracts the lines of the bike and the railing, along with the different levels and depth. I also like the rust spots on the frame.

I really didn’t do much to this photo in the processing of it. I shot this photo with a f/2.8 aperture, which gave this image a nice soft feel, and the bike was a powdered blue color, which helped to establish the mood.

This was taken with my 35-70 lens at f/2.8.

Image Copyright Β© Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on October 19, 2011.

28 Responses to “Back to an Earlier Time”

  1. Oh Katie I LOVE this! It’s on the fave list ;). Beautiful photograph, well done!

  2. Very nice! I like the diagonals created by the frame and the forks. Great capture!!

    • Agreed, Steve! At first I wasn’t sure about the railing in back of the bike, but all those different lines and directions really are what is interesting about the photo. Thanks for your comment! πŸ™‚

  3. I like that pale blue of the bike. πŸ™‚

  4. I love it

  5. Reminds me of when I was a kid…we did EVERYTHING on our bikes.

  6. Reminds me of my bicycle-days. Wonderful times. I still have one but this place is not suitable for riding. Anyways, great shot. πŸ™‚

  7. I love the lines and the muted colors. πŸ™‚

  8. Nice. I like the gentle colour and the stories this bike can tell us.

  9. So simple and yet so professional! Love the rusty frame, great picture! πŸ™‚

  10. Hi Kate,
    I have just discovered how to include bloggers I follow on my Blogroll, so you will be p[leased to know your blog address is featured, hoping to spread the word.

    BFN

  11. I like the gentle colours in this one.

  12. Awesome capture!!!

  13. I loved it too dear Katie, your eye of photography never makes me disappointed, you always find and create an artistic touches. You are amazing. By the way I love bikessssss Thank you, with my love, nia

  14. What an eye you have!!

Leave a Reply

 
