Beautifully Unobtainable – 2

This photo is another in my series of close-ups of gates with a blurred background (see earlier post here). I took this last week on my walk up Canyon Road, which is the primary art district here in Santa Fe. It really is a wonderful area, filled with old homes, now mostly used as art galleries, and sculptures and art everywhere. I find something new to like every time I walk up that way.

In this photo, the iron work was part of an entrance gate to a yard. In processing the raw image, I desaturated the color, as I found the original blue of the door to be too distracting, and I wanted to pare down the iron to just its shape and texture. A builder recently told me that iron work always looks better in black and white, and here, I think he was right. Also, there was no cropping or straightening in this photo, which kind of amazes me, as I was hand holding my camera and I think I got everything pretty much equal on all sides. Not exactly of course, as the iron work was done by hand, so nothing is perfect, which in itself is utterly perfect. (:

I took the photo with my 105mm macro lens at f/3.0.

Image Copyright Ā© Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on October 19, 2011.

33 Responses to “Beautifully Unobtainable – 2”

  1. I love the way the careful framing of the shapes makes everything look so symmetrical, but as your eye rests on the image, it starts to relax into the “imperfections” of the hand-wrought iron. It’s like the image loosens up the more you linger on it.

    • What a perfect description of this photo! i get that too. šŸ™‚ At first it’s all structure and stiff and then my eye softens as it notices the differences. I should get you to write my descriptions. šŸ˜‰ Thanks for your comment!

      • LOL, thanks for the compliment. I just think sometimes it’s a fun challenge to try to put my feelings and visceral reactions into words. šŸ™‚

  2. I like all the detail you captured, you can even see ths welds in the metal. Nice work, Katie

  3. Very well framed and balanced!

  4. Nicely done Katie…I think B&W was the way to go with this one too!!!

  5. Nice work getting this image centered; it goes to show Rule of Thirds isn’t always the ‘right’ way to compose an image. It works beuatifully in B/W, removing the colour distraction to focus on shape and texture. Great shot!

    • Thanks, Steve! I always keep the rule of thirds in mind when i shoot, but i have no problem just going by what my eye thinks looks good. šŸ™‚ So glad you like the photo and thanks for your comment!

  6. Really cool….love your stuff so far of what I have seen. Thanks so much for stopping by mine. I added you to my blog roll.

    • Than you so much for your comment on this photo and my other work. And thanks for putting me on your blog roll. I truly appreciate it. And I enjoyed visiting your blog and that cute cow. šŸ™‚

  7. It’s likely that your photo has made more people look and appreciate that piece of craftwork than its ever had previously. I doubt the residents of that building and the people that walk past it every day even notice it.

    Good stuff!

    • You could be correct! šŸ™‚ It is a private house that has this wonderful wrought iron fence and gate. i do take photos of things that other people never notice. Thanks so much for visiting my blog and your comment! šŸ™‚

  8. You really do have some beautiful photography work. I like that you tag it under art, architecture and photography, all interests of mine. I found you originally on WordPress, then came across you again in a link on another WP blog today. It seems that you are quite well known for your work, and deservingly so.

  9. I’m a sucker for gate shots. Love them! And this ironwork is perfectly imperfect, just as you said.

  10. Nice photo there. Did anyone else get the impression that it looked a bit like a gun sight aiming at the door?

    • I love it when people see all sorts of things in my photos. šŸ™‚ I hadn’t thought of a gun sight, but you know, something in this photo always puts me off on first glance, and maybe that’s part of it. Now I look at the photo and feel sorry for the next person coming through the door. šŸ™‚

  11. Great photo! Love it!!

  12. Symmetry. šŸ™‚

    Great shot, as usual.

  13. An absolutely marvelous capture! I love it!!!

  14. Nice photo. I love in old spooky movies where the old Victorian homes would be bordered by decorated, black, rod iron fences. Sometime the camera zooms in between the bars to show what is transpiring. Just was always a cool effect to me.

    Excellent framing by the way. The way you position the image kind of reminds me of a snowflake.

    • Ah, so glad you like them! They fit in well with your Halloween posts, I think. šŸ™‚ Thanks so much for seeing so much into this photo and your wonderful comment. šŸ™‚

  15. Nice photo! Really like that you’re working with the background as well! Great shot!

  16. great shot of depth! always reminding me of stained glass somehow!

Leave a Reply

 
