I Wave My Magic Wand :)

I’ve been trying to capture natural curls on plantsΒ lately, and being that it isn’t summer anymore, it’s been hard. Yep, everyone, Santa Fe is a four season place. A lot of people seem to have the misunderstanding that Santa Fe has a similar climate to Phoenix, Arizona, which isn’t the case. I was just outside in a winter coat and my heat is on already, while Β in Phoenix, people will be in shorts today. I need to go and visit. πŸ™‚

Anyhow, here is a plant acting as my magic wand. Β I’m casting a spell of happiness on everyone. Hope it works! (:

Taken with my 105mm macro at f/3.3

Image Copyright Β© Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on October 20, 2011.

30 Responses to “I Wave My Magic Wand :)”

  1. That is a very nice wand, well done.

    Here in the UK we had our first frost of the winter this morning and it was jolly cold.

    • Thanks, Michael, for your comment! We’ve not had a frost in the city, but we had some snow about a week and a half ago (the mountains were covered). I love this time of year, but it looks like it’s going to be a cold winter again this year. Stay warm!

      • Good things about winter – a few days off work if it snows because the UK grinds to a halt.

        Bad things about winter – I have to spend money in Starbucks so that I can shelter from the cold when waiting for my train each morning.

      • Ah, yes, good and bad about winter. πŸ™‚ I don’t mind winter really. We grind to a halt when we get snow too. It’s a bit comical how Santa Fe handles snow. It’s like it’s always a big surprise. Shakes head. πŸ™‚ Ooh, Starbucks must love you. πŸ™‚

  2. The homeschooling kids are making magic wands out of walnut today. Loved your pictures!

  3. Neat!

  4. Love the photo

  5. It worked, I can feel it. πŸ™‚

  6. I love the lines in this image!

  7. Looking at the photo makes me happy. I love your comment about people thinking Santa Fe has a climate like Phoenix. People not living here think the Southwest is nothing but one big, hot desert. They have no idea of the differences in elevation, climate, and ecosystems. This is one of the reasons I love the Southwest. Where I live I can drive an hour north or south and be in totally different environments.

    • You are so correct! πŸ™‚ So many people think that the Southwest is one big climate–a hot desert. We’re so lucky, as you know, and I know, just driving a few hours in any direction and things change. Like in Arizona–Phoenix and Flagstaff. Glad looking at the photo made you happy.:)

  8. It is moving. It is alive! πŸ™‚

  9. Beautiful shot! I love the amazing textures that nature provides. A leaf is always more than a mere leaf…it is a whole world to some of the small creatures that live on them. I didn’t realize how amazing things can be up close until after I got a better camera. Nature is as detailed and breathtaking close up as far off. In fact, I usually prefer the close shots of these tiny worlds. Just like this photo. Amazing what you can see if you look closely. Great shot, Katie! I love this one. πŸ™‚

  10. A lovely, simple image Katie!

  11. Very nice one, i must learn one day to make “magic wands” πŸ˜‰

  12. I received your spell of happiness! πŸ™‚ … πŸ˜€

    Wonderful shot!

  13. Nicely captured.

  14. You are amazing! Thanks and Love, nia

  15. Nice spell and nice photo πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

 
