Simple Restaurant Sign with Bent Metal (umm, I can’t think of a title for the post)

I’m in a strange mood today. A magic wand?  And for some reason this simple photo just feels right, so it’s being posted. Rhyme? Reason? Never heard of them. 🙂

The Pink Adobe is a landmark in Santa Fe. It’s a restaurant in an old adobe house in one of the most historic parts of the city. I walk past “The Pink” a few times every week and have taken photos before.

This time I had my long lens with me, and so I saw things differently then I would with another lens. I saw the signage for the restaurant and composed the shot.

I like this image for the simple sign with the fun lettering. The pink coloring against the blue sky in the background just looks right to me. And the bent metal and the wood of the sign just give the photo another dimension.

This photo was taken with my Nikon 70-200mm lens at f/2.8. I was far enough away that I knew I’d get a sharp photo of the subject (and this lens is outstanding for that), but I wanted the blurred background, so I stayed with the wide open aperture of f/2.8.

Image Copyright © Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on October 20, 2011.

20 Responses to “Simple Restaurant Sign with Bent Metal (umm, I can’t think of a title for the post)”

  1. I like it, as I like all of your photos of Santa Fe. 🙂

  2. Simple elements in this photo make it work; the colours work together, the textures work together. Nice shot!

  3. i love the blurred background of the photo and the amazing quality, it turned a “simple” sign into a fantastic photo (with your work of course 😉 )

  4. The quality of your pictures is amazing!!! 🙂

  5. Great shot! Live how you composed this image!!

  6. Well thanks…but in this case it was all in the processing…and FX Photo Studio HD’s filters. I suppose it was the choices I made with the cropping, etc. that made this work…but I guess this is no difference than had I done this in my darkroom instead of digitally!!

  7. lol I thought it said the Punk adobe at first. I’m very sleepy. Its a cute sign, and you can’t go wrong with pink! 🙂 Fun shot!

  8. Great foto – the pink script is so “posh” compared with the plain brown sign and metal guttering! thanks for stopping by my blog and taking the time to comment 🙂

  9. Katie – pink is popular lately – even in Pro Football. This is an image that took me by surprise and I like it a lot. I like your perspective and how you capture images of what may go un-noticed by most people. Wonderful work.

    Best Regards
    Jim

  10. I like pink! Great shot. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
