A Photo That Stops My Eye

This is a simple photo, but when I go through my photos looking for ones to post, my eye always stops and stays a while on this image. It’s like my mind sighs and takes a mental deep breath.

It’s just a window of an adobe house down the street. I love the warmth of the stucco walls, and the two different colors. Something about the straight lines give the photo such structure, but then the unkempt plants and cracks in the wall just say “Santa Fe” and soften things. And all that open space above the window and the bright sunlight. The bowl on the window sill (why?) catches my eye also. Then there’s the classic blue trim on the window, which legend has it will ward off evil. You see windows and doors that color all over Santa Fe.

All these things and my eye just wants to stay and visit a while.

This was taken with my 105mm lens at f/4.5 about a week ago when I was out and about.

Image Copyright © Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on October 21, 2011.

44 Responses to “A Photo That Stops My Eye”

  1. That blue just stands out huh?

  2. You got me again. I love the adobe stucco, and of course that blue trim is just like you say, it is New Mexico all over again. Love it. 🙂

    • Your comments always amuse me, Bob. 🙂 So glad you can see New Mexico in them. So glad you love the photo too! Sometimes i post photos that I know I like, but I wonder if others will see in them what I do. 🙂

  3. I never knew there was a reason for the blue, but I’ve always loved the contrast of the pink adobe and blue trim.

  4. I like the composition in this 🙂

  5. It’s so clear and warm, makes me want to sit against that wall and read a book 🙂

  6. There is something so mysterious about doorways and windows. Great photo. Yotaki Beautywalk

  7. Those beautiful organic stucco shapes are easy on the eye and soul. I can imagine the craftsmen(women) shaping and smoothing the materials. It’s lovely to think they are of the earth too – an opportunity to live closer to our Mother. 🙂

    • Oh, I love this comment, Dawn! So many houses around here, were indeed made by hand of those mud bricks with stucco applied by hand too. I love your thought about it being closer to Mother Earth too. 🙂 Thanks so much for your comment.

  8. Wow. This house wall texture reminded of my early childhood when I had lived in the village for a few years. One of the buildings was made of mud bricks. The building had a blue-colored window at the back-side. Hmmm. Those were times when there was no tension and playing all the times in the tea-gardens.. 🙂

    Thanks for sharing. It kept my eyes on it for quite a while. 🙂

    • So glad this took you back to your childhood, Nandini. Here in Santa Fe, it’s traditional to have mud brick/adobe built homes. Either you do it for real, or you fake it. 🙂 My home is partially the mud brick. I bet you’d like it here! How fun to play in the tea gardens! 🙂 So glad you liked the photo. I’ll be posting more of this type at times, so keep your eye out. Take care, Nandini!

  9. this is lovely!

  10. I can see why your eye stops… it is beautiful!

  11. Lovely ccomposition. And interesting about the blue trim. I’d really like to really see one of these houses, um, like stand in front of one.

    • Thank you. Just visit Santa Fe, and walk around a close in residential neighborhood and you’ll see the stucco and blue trim. 🙂 It really is everywhere here. I’ll try and post more photos of Santa Fe style of architecture. Thanks for your comment. 🙂

  12. I love this, it certainly demands attention!!

  13. It stops my eye as well, LOL. I like it. Simple and warm.

  14. It might be simple but it’s so nice. the color is soft ad calming

  15. Great image! Love all the contrasts; the colours, the materials, the shapes. Wonderful! Cheers!

  16. Dear Katie, if I were there, I would have stopped there too! I think we both like these kind of things… This was an ordinary window and bowl… But with your eye of camera it is now extraordinary! I love just because of this too, photography! Always showing us what we didn’t notice or see… Wonderful I loved it so much. Thank you dear Katie, with my love, nia

  17. Simplicity and warm colors make the photo very enjoyable. Not very different than some tuscany houses.
    robert

  18. Oh yeah, a mental break for sure. Wonderful point of view on this!

  19. Oh this is simplistically beautiful Katie! I love that classic blue and the lighting with these colors is so complimentary. Great depth too.

    Awesome shot!

  20. Fab combination of colours and light

  21. I like how you’ve captured the feeling of warmth emanating off of the wall. Great composition.

Leave a Reply

 
