Ordinary Bolt Made Interesting

Here’s another of my photos of normal things made interesting. This is a bolt that I’ve watched for years, as the log it’s on slowly disintegrates. I was out in front of my home with my camera one day and decided to see if I could take an interesting photo, and this is what I produced.

I like the small depth of field/focus in this photo and the way the wood is falling apart, giving the photo an interesting texture. I like the muted colors also with the touches of yellow, and the way the bolt is the star of the show, as he knows he is holding this piece of wood together as it slowly falls apart. (;

This was taken earlier this month with my 105mm macro lens at f/4.5 in natural light.

Image Copyright © Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on October 25, 2011.

41 Responses to “Ordinary Bolt Made Interesting”

  1. The sturdy bolt still in balance with the wood, but slowly losing its grip. Interesting picture Katie.

    • Thanks, Marion! Yes, the sturdy bolt is still holding its own with the wood, but the wood is moving away. They’re supposed to replace that wood/log, but haven’t done it, which I’m so glad of really. 😉 It’s more interesting like this.

  2. The world of macro is so full of ordinary objects that we get to look at differently. This is a great shot of an ordinary bolt! Nice depth of field, great colour palette too! Cheers!!

  3. That is a very cool shot…hard to believe that a bolt would look cool huh?

  4. It is so much fun to explore the world of close-up/macro photography! The ordinary becomes extraordinary !

  5. Love the contrast between the metal and the wood, the sharp lines and the organic wood grains.

  6. Isn’t perspective interesting? Love this picture.

  7. It’s amazing the quality of image of this shot… the level of detail. Nice one

  8. You certainly did make that interesting! Nicely done 🙂

  9. Very nice DOF and lovely soft colour. I love photos of the ‘ordinary’ looking really quite ‘extraordinary’.

  10. There is beauty all around

  11. Great shot! That is an intresting picture! I love the wood around it!

  12. Very cool picture! 🙂

  13. Great shot. And I really like the tiny leaf resting in the gap between the bolt and the wood.

  14. The detailing is amazing in this photo! Great job 😀

  15. So cool… again, we never pay much attention to simple things. GREAT shot

  16. Very nice…love how the depth of field works for you in this composition!!

  17. great!! 😀

  18. Funny that you post a picture with a great DoF and my post today is about how I have a love/hate relationship with DoF. Great picture as always. You really show the world in a very cool way with your pictures.

    • LOL! Love/hate with DOF. I have to go and read your post. I kind of have that a bit when I’m getting in close with the macro lens and trying to figure out what to focus on. 🙂 Thanks so much for your very nice compliment on my photos. 🙂

  19. Fantastic light and texture. Love the story, too. 🙂

  20. This is so impressive… so impressive. Great shot. Thank you dear Katie, with my love, nia

  21. Why in the world am I having a hard time looking away from a bolt??? oh yeah, because its a really good picture! There’s so much about this picture that I love, great job!!

Leave a Reply

 
