Santa Fe Style Mailbox – Not Your Ordinary US Mail Box

If you’ve ever walked around the close-in residential neighborhoods of Santa Fe, you’ve undoubtedly seen the mailboxes. They generally aren’t your normal, plain, metal United States mailboxes. Many are decorated in the most wonderful ways; different colors, painted with different scenes and just so creative.

I took this shot a few weeks ago of a mailbox that was bathed nicely in the mid-afternoon light. It’s not beautiful in the typical way, but it is Santa Fe, and this is what I love about this town — creative in a deep and individual way.

Shot with my Nikon 70-200 mm lens at f/2.8

Image Copyright Β© Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on October 26, 2011.

30 Responses to “Santa Fe Style Mailbox – Not Your Ordinary US Mail Box”

  1. Wow very nice πŸ™‚ in some older villages in Portugal we still can see some mailboxes of that kind and of many formats but not in Lisbon or so, and they are amazing…

    Excelent photo too πŸ™‚

    • Thanks, Filipe! I think that’s why people think Santa Fe is so unique, it still has that old, funky feel to it, and remnants of its Conquistador/Spanish/Native American/Anglo past. If you look you can find in in ways that I think is wonderful. πŸ™‚

  2. Nice shot, as always πŸ™‚ We don’t have such nice mailboxes here in London! πŸ™‚

  3. Having never been to Santa Fe I would say this is exactly what I would imagine Santa Fe is πŸ™‚

  4. Thanks for sharing. That’s what so nice with with these blogs, that you start to learn so many things from around the world… and of course, great shot! πŸ™‚

  5. I don’t think I ever see mailboxes anymore. Everyone around here has them attached to their doors and things. πŸ™‚ Its neat when people art up something normal. πŸ™‚

  6. Great image! It’s almost as if the box is waiting for another letter to arrive. Love the colour in this image; not glaring but soft and earthy. Cool!

  7. those are some wonderful colors and design you’ve captured it very well to give the rest of us a glimpse !

  8. Oh dear Katie, this is so nice! I wondered now all the others πŸ™‚ Thank you dear Katie, with my love, nia

  9. I used to work for the Post Office and it was really fun seeing all the creative mailboxes when I had to follow carriers on their routes.

  10. Beautiful light and shadows captured

  11. Good Day Sunshine!!! πŸ™‚

  12. Lovely muted colours and a truly original mailbox!

  13. Love the colors used here. Great shot. πŸ™‚

  14. You won’t find something as imaginative as this at a big box store. Nice photo Katie…I like the soft colors and the rustic feel.

  15. […] for the most part, so people are free to put out art and do some creative work with their property (see the mailbox here). Β To some folks from other areas, this might look a bit trashy, but to my eye, I love the little […]

  16. Love that cheerful mailbox. Santa Fe is a wonderful town for wandering about. I’ve only been there a couple of times, but I loved it.

    • Glad you know Santa Fe, Skip! And thanks for your nice comment. I agree, wandering about Santa Fe is just fun, especially if you explore the little nooks and crannies. πŸ™‚ Thanks for your comment!

Leave a Reply

 
