Adobe Moon

I really don’t remember much about this shot, except that it was one of the first ones I took when I got my first DSLR years ago. So that’s it…. Enjoy. 🙂

Image Copyright © Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on October 27, 2011.

146 Responses to “Adobe Moon”

  1. How could you not remember this shot!? It’s AMAZING! 🙂

  2. great beginning. it’s very nice! 🙂

  3. Wow! This is a great moon capture. And the house below, made out of mud isn’t it? Cool. Love the shades.

    🙂

    I too want a DSLR. On my wish-list. 😉

  4. This one i have to say it’s just amazing… the colours not only of the house but also of the sky… the perspective… it is simply fantastic.

    Excelent job… i am still shocked looking at the photo… amazing

  5. This is a great composition, and the contrasting colors are super.

  6. some very pleasing colors Katie…
    this photo kind of explains why your passion only increased if this was one of your first few photos 🙂

  7. WOW is all I can say 🙂

  8. This is absolutely stunning!

  9. Katie, this is an incredible shot! The strong evening light, the absolutely perfectly symetrical composition, all work to make this an outstanding example of what photography is about – writing with light!

  10. Its nice to look back and see what you shot the first time you got hold of your DSLR. You know what, my brain was thinking the same thing this morning and I m gonna post on this now.

    I lost my HDD with about 320gb of pics in 2008 and I still feel, I have my first pic somewhere in my collections.

    Gonna dig it now, and thanks for visiting 🙂

    M.

    • Ah, glad we have the same thought. People adored this shot, and I wasn’t a pro yet. 🙂 So sorry about the loss of so many photos. That is just heartbreaking. Can’t wait to see what you dig up, and I’ll go visit again. 🙂

  11. What a tease! You can not give us a photo like this and not tell us what lense or exposure. My moon shots are always over exposed. And boring

    • LOL, Doc! The lens was the kit lens for the Nikon D70, 18-70, I think. I’ll guess I had to use the biggest aperture around, so F/4.5 or so? 🙂 Sorry you can’t get good moon shots (sometimes over exposed is perfect! 🙂 ). I first shot the moon about 15 years ago, so it took some practice…. 🙂

  12. I love the colors, the brown contrasting with the blue is beautiful!

  13. Very cool! 🙂

  14. Did you use a kind of tele lens when taking this? It looks simply fantastic, Katie! I think it’s my favourite one.

    • Wow, a favorite! Thanks, Alexandra. As to the lens. I’m going to guess it was the kit lens (18-70mm) that came with the camera. I had another NIkon lens, but I think I sold that and wasn’t using it at the time. Sorry I can’t be more specific. The photo is 7 or 8 years old. Thanks again for the most wonderful comment! 🙂

  15. This is classic!!! It is perfect in every way and you should print this and hang it all over!!!

    • LOL! Thank you so much, David! You know, I’ve seen this photo so many times, that it just doesn’t look that good to my eye anymore. 🙂 But I know other folks love it, so I have to remember that I too adored it for years. 🙂

  16. Now, that is really cool looking.

  17. I love this photograph! How beautiful, the colors, textures, subject matter. 🙂

  18. Where is this in the world? Amazing shot! Did you use a tripod?

    • This was taken in Galisteo, New Mexico which is like 20 miles or so South of Santa Fe. The gate is pure Santa Fe style. Tripod. Yes, I do believe I did use one, if I can remember correctly. It’s been a long time since I took the photo Hope that helps. 😉

  19. Wonderful lighting, colors and composition! 🙂

  20. Stunning and surreal, Sally

  21. Ditto to everything everyone has already said. You really caught the spirit of the Southwest.

    Steve Schwartzman
    http://portraitsofwildflowers.wordpress.com

  22. Perfection!

  23. Love this photo!

  24. Simply stunning, Katie! One of my faves thus far!!!!!

  25. What a great image. I’ve got a picture lurking around somewhere on my computer and it was my first DSLR shot and I was sooo pleased with it. Not as good as this though 🙂

  26. What a beauty!

  27. Beautiful!

  28. OMG what a beautiful shot! The blue sky compliments the brickwork, and that huge moon sets the tone of the image. I think of a new day dawning, the start of another gift from our Maker. Amazing!

  29. This is awesome Katie 🙂 especially the moon 🙂

  30. Here’s another redundant compliment for you — gorgeous shot! 🙂 It makes me want to travel to the Santa Fe area and go walkabout.

  31. Oh wow, Katie!!!! Maginifcent!!!!! 🙂 I am wordless!! 😀

  32. This is an amazing shot, i couldn’t stop staring at it; the brightness of the moon, the colour of the sky behind the colour of the building… it’s just amazing!
    It makes me feel like something amazing is about to happen. Some kind of magic… i can’t explain it.
    One of the best moon shots I’ve seen 🙂

    • Wow! What a compliment. I love that you feel a sense of magic in it. Somehow to my m ind that is just wonderful. Maybe it’s the time of the year? 🙂 Thanks for your wonderful comment!

  33. Love the colours – nicely composed. I note the moon almost directly over the door – centred. By the way .. I also noticed a structure of some sort behind the front door – presumably a house ? Oh and thanks for your comments on my images – much appreciated.

  34. That’s an amazing shot. Nicely composed and the moon looks fantastic. Did you do it in one exposure?

  35. Lovely use and combination of geometry, colour, composition, and warmth!

  36. Simply beautiful 🙂

  37. This is a great shot. Love the colours, love the symmetry.

  38. Oh I do enjoy this shot! A lot! 🙂

  39. Wow… ‘nuf said !

  40. Thanks for visiting my blog! I just have to say that this image is so impressive…the colors, the moon…everything!

  41. This is a stunning photo – its colour contrasts, its framing, the balance of its components and that moon – sigh!

  42. Painterly. Nicely done. Can’t help but think of Ansel Adams’ Taos Pueblo photos when seeing structures like this.

  43. What a beautiful shot. I sense so much peace within this! It makes me long to be in the Southwest!

  44. One of the nicest I’ve see from Santa Fe. Well done!

  45. perfect symmetry!

  46. This is an amazing shot! Santa Fe is on my list of places to visit. Great blog!

  47. What a great shot!!

  48. That is absolutely beautiful! And you first shot with a DSLR?!…I am very jealous! 😉

    • it was one of my first shots, like say the same day or two. 🙂 I did own film cameras before that, so it wasn’t my first ever shot, just to make that clear. That would have been remarkable. 🙂 Thanks for your comment! And thanks for visiting my blog. 🙂

  49. That is Amazing and Very Awesome!

  50. Stunning shot, those vibrant colours against an ethereal moon, just lovely.

  51. Oh Magnolia – this is a wonderful image!!!!!!!!!!!

  52. Wondeful color in this photo. Love it.

  53. Amazing. WoW! Thank you dear Katie, with my love, nia

  54. That’s stunning Katie. Beautiful, strong, image.

  55. Wow.

  56. Love this one, Katie. Stuff of dreams…

  57. Perfect symmetry. Gorgeous!

  58. I would love to visit Santa Fe – and photos like this one are exactly the reason why! Lovely shot!

  59. This is sooo beautiful

  60. Nice strong twilight colours, and that moon!

  61. Very cool shot. Makes me really want to visit your part of the country!

  62. Brilliant capture. What a great graphic piece.

  63. I really love the composition and the orange of the building against blue sky is wonderful.

  64. always love the blue/orange compliments and a great shot

  65. That’s beautiful — the colors in this photo are really yummy!

  66. ANother comment to add to the throng . . . but this is gorgeous and I swoon over adobe.

  67. Love this shot! Beautiful colors so rich and vibrant.

  68. Ummm…WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  69. Love the light and the perspective.

  70. Great photo, I really have enjoyed looking at your photos

Leave a Reply

 
