The Bestest Leaves in the World ;) – Sweetgum

My favorite leaves are from the Sweetgum tree. They are a pretty star-shaped leaf, and in the fall they turn the most wonderful colors — from green to yellow to orange to red to purple. It is just wonderful to see.

The Sweetgum tree does not do well here in Santa Fe. Our soil isn’t good for it, and we are much too dry. Every once in a great while I run into these marvelous trees, but they are only a shell of their normal selves.

However, I do keep my eyes open, and about 10 months ago I found a set of four young Sweetgum trees planted in front of a house not far from me. I go and visit the trees every once in a while, and the owners of the house have set up aΒ drip irrigation system for the trees (bless them), so I had hopes that the trees might have some of their glorious good fall color, which really isn’t seen in Santa Fe (our color is primarily yellow).

And to my greatest delight, so far I haven’t been disappointed. πŸ™‚ I’m not sure if we’ll get the full effect of the leaves, as we’re supposed to get some snow over the next couple of days, but even if I don’t get any more color, I’m more than happy with what I’ve seen so far.

To me, the Sweetgum is the star of the show, so in the photo, I wanted to portray the leaf this way. Also, for reference, this is a young leaf (attached almost directly to the tree trunk), so it’s not fully formed like a mature leaf.

So without furtherΒ adieu, my favorite leaf, the lovely Sweetgum (shot with my 105mm lens at f/20):

Image Copyright Β© Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on October 27, 2011.

46 Responses to “The Bestest Leaves in the World ;) – Sweetgum”

  1. What wonderful deep color and detail!! Great image.

  2. wow beautiful πŸ™‚ i have to start training this kind of photo too as i will be putting it to use a lot in Costa Rica

  3. Beautiful colour, great shot, Katie! I love snow, I hope I get to see some of when I go back home for Christmas as it doesn’t snow much here in London πŸ™‚

    • Thanks, Kristina! πŸ™‚ I’m not ready for any snow just yet, but this is New Mexico, so not unusual, and we need the water. Hope you get some snow when you get home for Christmas!

  4. I love it! Wonderful. πŸ™‚ [And just FYI, my nail-paint matches with the color of this leaf! Hehehe πŸ˜‰ ]

  5. Of course I don’t mind, I actually wanted you to do that for me, but didn’t ask, thinking you would do it. And you did! πŸ™‚

    I’ll try to upload πŸ˜‰

  6. What a gorgeous colour for a leaf β€” much deeper and more wine-like than most autumnal leaves.

    • They really are amazing leaves, Mufidah. When I first noticed them years ago, I was just taken aback by the different color changes they have. And I cannot tell you how nice it is to find some of these trees again. πŸ™‚ Thanks for your comment!

  7. Very evocative colouring – detail is amazing.

  8. We have one of these trees in the park near my house… They really are beautiful and rich… the prickly pods that fall off this type of tree are just wild! πŸ˜‰

  9. I’ve never seen one of these trees 😦
    Such a rich colour; beautiful shot

    • Thank you! The owners of the house came out when I was shooting the leaves, and they had no idea what type trees they were. Shakes head. πŸ™‚ I just thanked them profusely for taking such good care of them.

  10. Yea…they are sharp…we have them around here.

  11. Ooh lovely. Its all dark and rich. What a great shot πŸ™‚

  12. beautiful…

  13. I love the way you did the bokeh, and the shadow makes it look as if it is floating. Great color, too!

  14. BTW, I see you have 14K + hits in two months! That is astounding! A tribute to your own participation in the blogging community! That’s why I am here.

    • I know, Kate! I am amazed at the number of hits I’ve had in about 7 weeks time. Just thoroughly amazed at it, and the number of subscribers. I love having someone like you visiting my blog. πŸ™‚ So thank you!

  15. I love the colors and bokeh πŸ™‚ Oh and I love leaves!! Beautiful!!

  16. The sweet gum is my favorite also…along with the sugar maples and beech. This leaf has the color of a nice Merlot. Lovely!

    • Mmmm. Merlot. πŸ™‚ Thanks, David! Glad you like the Sweetgum too. I love Maples also, well the ones that turn red. πŸ™‚ I’ve never had beech where I’ve lived, but they have great bark. πŸ™‚ Take some photos, please. πŸ™‚

  17. I can only mirror some of the above sentiments: beautiful colour and great image depth! Those macro lenses sure make a difference in images like this, though it’s still the photographer’s eye that creates the image. Cheers!

    • Thank you so much, Steve. That leaf was really small too, so the macro was absolutely necessary. I’m so glad you can appreciate the work that goes into taking a photo like this and noticing my eye! πŸ™‚

  18. I myself prefer the Sweetgum fruit, its so cute.

  19. Try crushing a leaf – they have a really pleasant, almost perfume-y scent. Cool!

  20. That’s a beauty. Coincidentally, I photographed a sweet gum tree in the Arboretum today.

  21. I’m really glad to discover your blog… You know, we usually don’t notice such a beauty as is shown on this photo… Thank you for taking this wonderful shot and for sharing with us!

  22. Ah, such color. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

 
